Rapid River Retreat

3 Bedrooms 2 Bathrooms Sleeps 8 Rhododendron Dog Friendly

You will have a quiet, relaxing vacation at the Rapid River Retreat, one of our most popular vacation rentals. Sit by the Sandy River with your morning coffee or a glass of wine in the afternoon and see and hear the Sandy River rushing by. With the west-facing backyard, you will soak in lots of afternoon sunshine while grilling dinner on the Weber gas BBQ. After dinner roast marshmallows and tell tall tales gathered around the firepit. The private, outdoor hot tub next to the river will cap off a day of fun and an evening of relaxation.

The vaulted great room is perfect for a gathering of friends and family who like to cook with the spacious open kitchen and second prep area with its own sink. You can sit around the large dining table for dinner and enjoy the river and mountain views through the floor-to-ceiling picture windows. The wood-burning fireplace warms the home and adds to the mountain lodge ambiance.

This home is perfectly suited for three couples or a small family with three bedrooms (1 king, 2 queens) accommodating up to 6 guests. There are two full bathrooms, one upstairs and one downstairs. Each bedroom looks out over the Sandy River and the Cascade foothills in the background adding to the relaxing atmosphere.

The kids will love adventuring in the forest surrounding the Rapid River Retreat as well as finding fun places to explore throughout the Villages of Mt Hood. Your dog will be happy that you brought him along on this getaway retreat with the river to play in and the gated, dead-end road for taking long walks. The national forest just across the street from the cabin is a perfect place for your dog to explore and run.

•On the Sandy River in Zigzag
•Open Great Room
•Quiet Dead-end Road in a Gated Neighborhood
•Wood-burning Fireplace
•Starter Supply of Firewood Provided
•Fully-Equipped Kitchen
•1 King Bed in the Bedroom Upstairs
•1 Queen Bed in Bedroom Upstairs
•1 Queen Sofa Bed in the Bedroom Upstairs
•1 Queen Bed in Bedroom Downstairs
•2 Full Bathrooms
•Private, Outdoor Hot Tub
•Deck with Propane BBQ and Deck Furniture
•Cable TV
•Internet Speed: High - more than 100 Mbps
•Land Line Phone w / Free Long Distance (limited cell service)
•Washer / Dryer
•Your Dogs are Welcome!
•No Smoking
•1832 Square Feet
•Property Elevation: 1550 Feet
•Note: Snowy roads and driveway require traction devices (chains or snow tires) and 4WD for access during the winter
•Parking: Max 3 Vehicles, No Street Parking
•Sleeps 8
•No Parties, Weddings or Events, Please

Outside

  • Grill/BBQ
  • Deck/Patio
  • Fire Pit

Nearby Attractions

  • Restaurants
  • Forests
  • Museums
  • Waterfalls
  • Lakes/Rivers

Safety

  • Carbon Monoxide Detector
  • Smoke Detectors
  • Fire Extinguisher
  • High Touch Surfaces Cleaned with Disinfectant
  • Towels and Bedding Washed in 60C/140F Water

Kitchen

  • Toaster
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Dishwasher
  • Stove
  • Microwave
  • Kitchen
  • Cookware

General

  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron
  • Linens
  • Towels
  • Washer
  • Hangers
  • Fireplace
  • Air Conditioning
  • Dryer
  • Garage
  • Driveway
  • Wireless Internet
  • Living Room
  • Bathtub
  • Walk-In Shower
  • Telephone
  • Dining Area
  • Parking
  • Internet

Sport Activities

  • Cross Country Skiing
  • Cycling
  • Fishing
  • Hiking
  • Kayaking
  • Skiing
  • Mountain Climbing
  • Mountaineering
  • Rock Climbing
  • Whitewater Rafting
  • Sledding
  • Golf
  • Fly Fishing

Local Services

  • Laundromat
  • Groceries
  • Medical Services

Leisure Activities

  • Bird Watching
  • Eco Tourism
  • Paddle Boating
  • Scenic Drives
  • Shopping
  • Sight Seeing
  • Wildlife Viewing

Location Type

  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Ski Resort Nearby
  • Riverfront
  • River View
  • Rural
  • Water View
  • Waterfront

Miscellaneous

  • Mountain

Accessibility

  • Private Entrance

Pool and Spa

  • Hot Tub: Private

Entertainment

  • Satellite / Cable
  • TV
  • Board Games
LEAVE A REVIEW
01/15/2023 ~ Guest Survey
Cleanliness
Quality of Home (Appearance, Amenities & Comfort)
Customer Service
Condition of Home (Maintenance, Wear and Tear & Usability)
Loved the sound of the river! We enjoyed walking by the river, reading by the fire and having a relaxing weekend away! One drawback, many of the outlets were loose and don’t hold a plug. A few of the outlets didn’t work at all. It wasn’t a big deal for us.

03/2022 ~ Website

Relaxation surrounded with the beauty of nature!

Nancy S.
Rapid River Retreat is a aptly named: A relaxing place to retreat right next to the swiftly flowing Sandy River coming down from the slopes of Mt Hood. This home is designed for maximum comfort and relaxation with both an indoor and outside fireplace. The deck is so close to the river, it's often challenging to hear conversations and provides a calming ambiance throughout the night. The hot tub is situated near the house but also close to the river and is easily accessed. Numerous trails offer adventures for dogs and the family alike. We enjoyed the beautifully designed kitchen including a large gathering place to eat and play games. This property is a real treasure!

02/2022 ~ Website

The Rapid River Experience

Jeff K.
We had a great time at this vacation rental. We stayed 3 nights and went Skiing at MT. Hood Meadows on one day and then did a day trip to Govt. Camp for lunch on the second day. We had a blast. The only issue we had was that the oven would not heat up past 310 degrees so we had to scramble on the the first night to finish cooking our Chilean Sea Bass. Other than that the place was very clean and inviting. Lots of cooking utensils to use. There was only one decent stemmed wine glass in the house so if you like your wine in good glasses as we do you might want to bring your own. I am sure these get broken on a routine basis so I do not blame the owners for not supplying them.
Manager Response
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Rapid River Retreat. Thank you for letting us know about the oven. We will have it looked at. You are right, stemmed wine glasses get broken all the time.

12/2021 ~ Website

good

Guest
great

10/2021 ~ Website

Rapid River Retreat

Guest
Home was great - very clean, well appointed and very well maintained. Setting was beautiful - thick forest with flowing river right outside the door. Absolutely beautiful. Property management staff were tremendous to deal with.

09/2021 ~ Website

Rapid River Charm

Marianne and
Rapid River Retreat is a must get away - seated high above the Sandy River, with the sound of a rushing river and a beautiful upstairs Master Suite. It was comfortable, clean, and private. We love it there.

09/2021 ~ Website

Pleasant Stay

Maria M.
The place was very peaceful and best of all spacious. My family and I were able to enjoy the wonderful sounds of the river and enjoy dinners with a beautiful view!

08/2021 ~ Website

Lovely Space

Sharon J.
Our family wanted a respite in the woods, and we got just that! The cabin was clean, well located, and inviting. The wonderful access to the river with a little sandy beach was perfect. Our dog and grandson played there for hours! And the hot tub at the end of the day really was great. We will happily return!

07/2021 ~ Website

Give Mt. Hood Some Love

Nancy O.
This was an ideal place for a quick local stay-cay. So clean you'd never know anyone else had been there, and just 20 paces from a sweet, tiny sandy beach on the river. Last year, our mountain community took major hits from the pandemic, wildfire threat, and more terrible weather. The restaurants and services here need our patronage, care, and understanding. They are soldiering on to stay open and feed travelers as well as folks who live here. Table and takeout service might be slow or limited, so have some patience and tip the heck out of everyone. We're so grateful for places like Rendezvous Grill, Barlow Trail Roadhouse, El Burro Loco, Skyway, and Dragonfly Cafe. And Mt. Hood Vacation Rentals makes it easy to enjoy the mountain, even during tough times.

06/2021 ~ Website

Great Rental near Mt. Hood

Robert J.
Rapid River Retreat is a beautiful cabin set in a forest environment next to the Rapid River. Cabin has three bedrooms a fantastic kitchen, with floor to ceiling windows in the great room with views of the river and forest. Everything was exactly as described in the website. Can recommend.

04/2021 ~ Website

Rapid River Retreat

Guest
This area and Mt Hood Vacation Rentals have become a family favorite for peaceful and serene getaways. Rapid River Retreat was beautifully located and maintained. Although the capacity indicates it can suit a party of 8 (if I remember correctly), it may be a bit cramped in sleeping space only if more than 5 or 6. We will definitely be returning so would recommend to anyone looking for a wonderful experience.

03/2021 ~ Website

Mountain Paradise

Jeremy P.
Beautiful home with amazing views of the river and mossy green Forrest. Everything as expected plus more. Kitchen fully stocked, WiFi unbelievably fast for the location. Enjoyed falling asleep to the sound of the river every night. So excellent we booked again for July.

03/2021 ~ Website

One great Getaway.

Samuel R.
We stayed at the Rapid River Retreat 3 nights. Was Great but should have stayed longer. The house is Beautiful Clean Quiet and very Peaceful. The Hot Tub is Great after a day of Hiking or Morning Coffee. The deck to the Tub can be Slick so be careful Walking to and from. Our Experience at Mt.Hood Vacation rentals and The Staff was Top Rate.

02/2021 ~ Website

Mountain house with stunning views

Guest
This beautiful home is located right on the river with stunning views from the hot tub. The house has plenty of space to spread out and to enjoy a quiet family getaway. It’s a short drive to the mountain and in to the store. The road in is one lane and a 10 mph speed limit so in the snow that means someone has to back up, but we lucked out and didn’t pass any other cars. To note-while the house is fairly well stocked, the comforters on the beds were thin coverlets so if you are visiting during the Winter, I highly recommend bringing extra blankets as there are none in the house. If you want a quiet getaway and arguably the best views from a riverfront hot tub, this home is the place. We would definitely rent again.

01/2021 ~ Website

Great family rental!

Guest
We had a great stay in this beautiful home. Check in was a breeze, the beds were comfortable and it was quick and easy to get up the mountain. We were sad that there was no snow on the ground, but that made driving quite a bit easier and snow was easy to find, just up the road.

12/2020 ~ Website

nice private getaway

Richard P.
very nice secluded house. Internet was extremely fast for kids online school work.

08/2020 ~ Website

Pretty, pretty, pretty Perfect

Guest
What a peaceful, relaxing place! We had a wonderful stay with our family. The location is fabulous situated toward the end of a tree lined road on the Sandy river, great place to take off from and come home to. We cooked, barbequed, read, hot rubbed, had fun with the jigsaw puzzles, ate, hiked, ate, explored, ate, kayaked,visited Timberline lodge, zig zag falls, the nature preserve...all in all a great time! The staff is top notch! You would be hard pressed to find a more caring, professional group of folks! Thanks a bunch!

08/2020 ~ Website

Beautiful home!

Nan C.
This place was exactly like the pictures and more!

07/2020 ~ Website

Rapid River Retreat - Rejuvenating, Relaxing and Restful

Guest
Rapid River Retreat is exactly that. We were looking for a place to get away, relax and rejuvenate and this was the ideal location. The property tucked away at the end of a private gated lane exudes privacy. We spend the majority of our time outside enjoying the view and sounds of the river. Our goal was to stay put and we did. We never had a need to leave the property. The property description was right on – this property is truly a retreat! The house is perfect for relaxing and hanging out. Lots of open and light spaces with a great room living environment. The layout is very conducive to a family gathering. Do not worry about packing any kitchen utensils or cookware – this place has it all. Whatever we looked for we found. The entire property inside and out was very well maintained and kept up. There were several special touches and amenities throughout the home that that were nice to have access to, especially the spa towels and pre-measured sanitizer for the hot tub. This is our 4th stay with Mt Hood Vacation Rentals. Mt Hood Vacation Rentals are experts at providing exceptional customer service and ensuring that the guest experience is what they are looking for. Thanks again MHVR we can't wait to book our next stay.
Manager Response
Sue, we are so happy to know that you were able to rejuvenate and relax at the Rapid River Retreat during your recent stay. We look forward to seeing you for your 5th visit to Mt Hood.

05/2020 ~ Website

Perfect family getaway

Guest
Just right for 3 kids and a dog. Right on the river. very secluded and exactly what we needed with a 2, 3, and 13 year old. Perfect layout and location. Thanks.

02/2020 ~ Website

Great weekend getaway

Stephen A.
Perfect house and environment. We came up for the weekend and had an amazing time. Booked the same place for this weekend! Great romantic spot, gorgeous surroundings and near great food spots & recreation! Highly recommend this house!

12/2019 ~ Website

ahhhh ... relaxing river retreat

Guest
Our annual stay in one of Mt. Hood Vacation Rentals did not disappoint! This is probably our 6th or 7th stay in one of the rentals and we pick a different one every year! This one was FABULOUS! Right on the river with a secluded hot tub - perfection! Comfy couches for sinking in with a good book and a big table for puzzles, playing games, and family meals.
Manager Response
Thank you for your annual visits. We love having you and are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed the Rapid River Retreat. We are curious to see where you decide to stay next year.

10/2019 ~ Website

Retreat on the River

Garett C.
We had a wonderful business retreat at Rapid River Retreat. The location was excellent and the home was very comfortable.

08/2019 ~ Website

Rapid River Retreat

Philip S.
Staff was great and the place was very nice. Would stay here again.

07/2019 ~ Website

Serene and Welcoming

Guest
This is our 2nd time staying at Rapid River Retreat. It is everything a guest could need/want! Well supplied kitchen, lovely surroundings with the sounds of the river in the background and very welcoming for our family of 6. Highly recommend...and we hope to be back.
Manager Response
Thank you for your repeat visits to the Rapid River Retreat. We look forward to seeing you again.

07/2019 ~ Website

Great Family Place

Mike B.
This is a great place to get away from the traffic and noise. Great place just to spend time with your family without distractions. Good separation of space in the cabin.
Manager Response
It is very quiet and peaceful at the Rapid River Retreat and we are grateful to know how well this worked for your family getaway.

04/2019 ~ Website

RAPID RIVER RETREAT

Rick R.
EXCELLENT

04/2019 ~ Website

Beautiful....secluded....wonderful view

Guest
We had a fabulous time at Rapid River Retreat. the house is beautiful, inviting and very comfortable.
Manager Response
So glad you had a great time at the Rapid River Retreat. Please come stay again soon.

01/2019 ~ Website

My experience was awesome!!

Andrew P.
My family flew in from NYC for my daughters birthday and everyday was a great experience for everyone. The river was beautiful and sounded relaxing. The hot tub was great for adult time when the kids went to sleep and all of the activities in the surrounding areas were all so much fun!!
Manager Response
Happy Birthday to your daughter! We are so glad to know that it was a wonderful family celebration and gathering. We look forward to seeing you again next year (or maybe this summer).

12/2018 ~ Website

Cozy and Comfortable

Mary Ann
Wonderful lodge on the Sandy River with beautiful views from every window, upscale kitchen, beautiful furnishings and bedrooms. Our #1 favorite for a future rental.
Manager Response
We love the riverfront setting at the Rapid River Retreat, too. And the kitchen, dining area and great room are perfect for a holiday gathering. We are excited to see you again soon.

08/2018 ~ Website

Fabulous retreat!

Barbara B.
You couldn't ask for anything more from this house. Beautiful relaxing location, yet close enough to town to run in for groceries or grab a bite to eat (Skyway Tavern & El Burro Loco). The kitchen is the most well stocked kitchen I've ever seen! Very clean hot tub, comfortable bedrooms, great deck and you can't beat the view. There are a lot of nearby activities, but once we settled in we just wanted to hang out and relax

03/2018 ~ Website

An Incredible Weekend Retreat

Stephen A.
We have an incredible time at the cabin and the weather was just perfect. The snow, the river, the house all were spectacular. We enjoyed every aspect of the house and through and through was an outstanding experience. We will be back and this cabin has moved to the top of our list as a favorite.

03/2018 ~ Website

Comfy Cozy River Retreat

Guest
This home and the location are gorgeous! Huge windows to view the river and really peaceful setting. Spent Spring Break with my kids and a friend and her kids for a ski trip. This house was perfect and fit the six of us with plenty of room. Kitchen is well stocked and there were plenty of towels and firewood. We did have a few issues with the downstairs bathroom not flushing very well, but the property management company sent someone over right away to unclog and fix. Location is great and close to the mountain and Welches. Highly recommend!

09/2017 ~ Website

The house was very updated & location was beautiful.

Mary L.
Beautiful setting & house. Drawback that it only has1 bathroom upstairs. We had a couple of families staying getting ready for wedding festivies & it was a little awkward having to share a bathroom. Also, we felt that it would have been nice to have coffee & sugar provided. We had to borrow from another house. Providing keys at the house in a lockbox situation would make it much more convenient than having to make trips to the rental office to pick them up & drop them off.
Manager Response
We hope you had a great time at the wedding. We have electronic keypads at many of our homes, however, we are unable to get a strong enough signal at this home.

08/2017 ~ Website

Beautiful Location

James H.
Beautiful location and the house is very private and very spacious and comfortable. There were only a few little things that were frustrating. The coffee machine was broken, the dishwasher was not secure and would fall forward when trying to load it, and the wifi was terrible and kept dropping out. A few small things but when you are paying this much its nice to feel like the house is really well maintained.
Manager Response
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay along the river in this quiet vacation home. Thank you for letting us know about the coffee maker and the dishwasher. Unfortunately, the wifi service in our area can be touchy. We wish we had better and more consistent service here, too.

05/2017 ~ Website

Amazing location

Michael B.
Rapid RIver Retreat has probably the most amazing back yard of any cabin I've ever rented (and I've rented a lot). Be aware that there is a long narrow road that you have to drive in order to get there, but it's worth it for the gorgeous, relaxing view. My mom and I loved sitting outside and watching the river. So peaceful and beautiful. The inside is gorgeous also, big open floor-plan and great kitchen! We had a couple of small issues when we were there, but Faye from the rental office was awesome - responded quickly and was very helpful in getting them sorted out. Thanks again!
Manager Response
We agree about the view in the backyard of the Rapid River Retreat. It is pretty nice from the dining table inside, too. The plus with the road is that it is gated and dead-end, so there is very little traffic which keeps the setting peaceful.

04/2017 ~ Website

Review

Mike B.
Weekend went well!!

01/2017 ~ Website

Rapid River Retreat Review

Guest
The cabin is in a beautiful location! The rapid river flowing behind it is a sight to see in the morning and is very relaxing to look out on while enjoying the outdoor hot tub. The kitchen had everything you could ever imagine, the master bedroom was like a mini living room with a comfortable king bed and incredible views from the windows, and all the books for our guests to hang out was a treat. My only note to the owners are the conditions of the cabin: broken chair, broken door to one of the bedrooms, and a few gross discoveries like food build up, mysterious orange crunchy stuff in the closet corners, and sticky stains on the master end table. Those tiny details didn't take away any of the wonderful accommodations this cabin provided. Oh, and the fire wood was a big plus - we loved the fireplace!
Manager Response
We love the setting at the Rapid River Retreat, too. The river flowing by and the quiet dead-end road are so relaxing. We regret that you found a few things not up to our normal high standards. Thank you for the head's up; all of the maintenance items have been addressed. We look forward to your next visit.

12/2016 ~ Website

Family Getaway

Deborah G.
Three generations enjoyed this home with spectacular river view and easy access to trails and snowboarding. Everyone gathered in the evening by the fireplace to tell stories of their day's adventures.
Manager Response
This sounds like the perfect Holiday gathering with your family at the Rapid River Retreat. We look forward to seeing you again to enjoy more adventures at Mt Hood and create more stories to share.

09/2016 ~ Website

Right on the river!

Elizabeth A
We loved this house and it's location just feet away from the Sandy River. You have tons of privacy in a gated community and the forest is just across the road. We loved opening the doors and windows to listen to the water and wind in the trees. The kitchen is well stocked and designed for efficient cooking with everything in reach. But we did have a hard time figuring out the coffee maker - an instruction manual would have been helpful. Two nice bathrooms with hair dryers and lots of towels. The master bedroom was spacious with big windows and a skylight. The other two bedrooms were small and maneuvering in them was impeded by the large timber side rails (we suggest keeping the headboard and replacing the frame with a normal bed frame). We loved the large windows facing the river but the flat screen tv was small and living room sectional not made for anyone with back problems. And there weren't any foot stools so reclining was hard. As always Mt. Hood Rentals was wonderful, and we greatly appreciate their dog friendly attitude with treats, a leash, sheet and poop bags. The home was clean and well cared for. This was a great experience and we will definitely be back!
Manager Response
Thank you for your repeated visits to Mt Hood Vacation Rentals. The Rapid River Retreat is one of our favorite dog-friendly homes with the quiet and gated dead-end street for walks and the river in the backyard. We look forward to seeing you again.

08/2016 ~ Website

rapid River Retreat

Guest
Best experience in renting house for family get together.
Manager Response
Wow, that is awesome to hear that staying at the Rapid River Retreat was your best family vacation rental experience. It is our goal to Create Memories That Matter and we are so thrilled that this happened for your family get-together. We are excited for your next visit to Mt Hood.

07/2016 ~ Website

So beautiful and so much fun!!! We loved it!

Donna W.
It was excellent!!! We are definitely planning to come back! Soooo much fun. Everything we needed.
Manager Response
Yay, we are so happy that you had a lot of fun during your Mt Hood vacation at the Rapid River Retreat. This is a great home for a winter visit, too.

07/2016 ~ Website

Vacation

Guest
great time, wonderful environment

05/2016 ~ Website

Memorial Day Weekend 2016

Mitch A.
We are frequent vacation renter to the Mt. Hood and other nearby properties. Although the house is situated within slightly congested area, neighbors are spaced well with no interaction. River views and ambiance are excellent. Bedding and furniture are quality. We felt the kitchen and bath could have been better equipped with basics (salt/pepper/napkins/cooking oils and hotel size shampoo/body wash/lotion). Overall, an excellent experience with the hospitality team responding immediately to a broken coffee grinder. Our biggest complaint was the serious lacking stereo system. I feel properties of this quality/$$$ should have minimum sound system with quality speakers and subwoofer. At present, the Walmart quality clock radio system has no modern input/USB/Mini-jack, bluetooth or other. While normally, we don't use television/entertainment system while enjoying the mountain, I would say this one was also below par with no DVD library, surround sound/etc... to be honest entire system out of place and precariously placed with a tripping hazard of spaghetti like power cords.

01/2016 ~ Website

Rapid River Awesome Retreat

Guest
The house is perfectly secluded along the Zig Zag river. Great open space for our large group to enjoy ourselves and relax for the weekend. Great kitchen space with every type of appliance and dish ware needed. The fireplace was cozy for the winter weather. And the hot tub was the finishing touch after a day of snowshoeing! I would stay here again in a heartbeat.
Manager Response
The Rapid River Retreat has one of our favorite vacation rental kitchens because it is so well-stocked for cooking up a feast during your friends' gathering at Mt Hood. We look forward to seeing you again.

12/2015 ~ Website

Family Christmas gift

Rosemarie B.
A getaway with all the comforts of home. We got to really enjoy our gift of quality time with each other. Amazing view. Warm and cozy.
Manager Response
We love hearing that you enjoyed precious time with loved ones at the Rapid River Retreat. We think the view is pretty special, too.

09/2015 ~ Website

Perfect spot

Guest
The location and view make this house the perfect spot for relaxing. The river flowing behind the house is mesmerizing. The check-in was easy, and the staff friendly and helpful. The only negative was it got a bit chilly in the house, but that was a minor issue. I wasn't prepared for the weather to be as cold as it was.
Manager Response
We love the setting of the Rapid River Retreat, too. Thank you for the head's up about the thermostat; we will have that looked at.

08/2015 ~ Website

Paradise

Judith D.
This house is beautiful. The location is stunning and peaceful. We found our stay to be peaceful and replenishing. Really our favorite vacation rental so far. Labeling the many light switches according to which lights they operated would be helpful. The toilet in the upstairs bathroom needed to have been cleaned more thoroughly (ring around the toilet), before our arrival. These are minor issues though.

08/2015 ~ Website

O'Neills Stay 8/13 & 8/14

Guest
I felt that we had a great experience. I would have to say however, that I sure wish the check out time was a little later, since we stayed for only 2 nights. We checked in around 4:30 or 5pm on date of arrival and by the time we unpacked the car and got settled in, it was like 7pm (so pretty much just get the kids to bed at that time). We then had all day on Friday to hang out, but on Saturday morning we pretty much just woke up and cooked breakfast and then packed the car up for our departure to get out by 11am. Also the website says secluded, but I felt we were extremely close to the neighbors on one side.

02/2015 ~ Website

Rapid River Retreat

Guest
Overall, a really great place. Open floor plan, lots of light, great kitchen. The view of the river from the house, the access to the river right outside your door, the sound of the river are what makes this place really special. We had a big group and there was space for everyone to hang out, eat, drink, hot tub, play games and more. Very grand feeling. Areas to improve, and similar to other reviews, not super clean. The stairs had debris on them, the bathroom had two towels hanging on the door and some un-cleanliness feel to it. There was roof damage from a recent storm (it looked like) and the debris hadn't been picked up. I don't expect it to be repaired necessarily (not sure when it happened), but cleaning it up a little would've been nice.
Manager Response
The setting at Rapid River Retreat cannot be beat; we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We apologize for the less than high standards in cleaning; that will be improved. The roof repair is finally happening in March; we had to wait for the insurance company to approve the repairs. The home was inspected and determined to be safe for occupancy.

07/2014 ~ Website

Serene

Shirley N.
Wonderful family get away and get together. We had a marvelous time and wish we could have stayed much longer as we loved it!

06/2014 ~ Website

From Texas to Oregon.........

Amy R.
We arrived after dark and could hear the river behind us. We were so surprised when we turned on the back porch lights and saw the beautiful river flowing. We had an amazing time and will stay there again whenever we make it back to Oregon. The home was very comfortable and met all of our needs. Thank you!

05/2014 ~ Website

Rapid river retreat

Guest
Place was nice but very dated.

03/2014 ~ Website

Awesome House - Great Rental Company

Colin F.
Our rental experience was fantastic. A group of us were looking for a nice place for a ski trip but last minute our group downsized by half. Cari worked with us and got us a perfect house last minute with no trouble and she was flexible with getting payment from multiple guests. She was very helpful and professional. The house she recommended was perfect!! It was in great shape, right on the river, very clean, with a large hot tub,an open floor plan and plenty of room for our group! The house made the weekend!!!

03/2014 ~ Website

Excellent experience, exactly as advertised

Jason W.
The property was just as advertised. The house was beautiful, everything was ready for us when we arrived. The staff was friendly, they answered all questions and emails were responded to promptly. It was a wonderful birthday weekend with my friends. I would recommend to anyone else, and will hopefully be back again next year!

02/2014 ~ Website

Rapid River Resort/Feb 13-15

Dave N.
The home was not as clean as we expected. It was obvious that furniture had not been moved when cleaned as there was debris under the living room furniture, as well as a half smoked marijuana cigarette on the fireplace mantel. A little frustration getting the wifi to work. The living room furniture layout just isn't very comfortable and the cluster of cords from the TV/electronics area is unsightly. The bedrooms are rather small and in my opinion, a sofa sleeper in the loft would make more sense than the game table. Overall, we still had a great time - enjoyed the hot tub.

02/2014 ~ Website

A nice place that could use some TLC

Samuel M.
Overall this is a nice cabin, with some drawbacks. The good: - The view was fantastic - The hot tub right on the river was amazing - The cabin was very well stocked with supplies The bad: - There were dust bunnies and dog hair on the floor, and we made the mistake of moving the couch which revealed a lot more. - The furniture could use some updating. - The extra bedrooms are just big enough to fit the queen bed. - The heat didn't work well, if at all. This became apparent on our last night when we ran out of firewood. It's hard not to have a good time with wonderful friends and family and I don't regret our stay, but I think we will continue looking for a place to call our home away from home.

01/2014 ~ Website

Ski Weekend

Sarah B.
Great time in the house. Everyone had a blast and enjoyed the space. Only a few things to note; no one mentioned wifi wasn't working and with limited recepetion, this caused problems for cell phones.. The power also went out- to be expected in the area during a storm, but that also ment no water as the well must have been on an electric pump. A fair warming should have been given. Other then that, it was a great weekend!

12/2013 ~ Website

Awesome!

Phillip L.
Relaxing, very comfortable and private

12/2013 ~ Website

Great way to ring in the New Year 2014 -

Guest
Rapid River Retreat was perfect for our two families to stay in - the only thing lacking for us was snow... thanks again

12/2013 ~ Website

The Home made a Difference... it was a wonderful experience

Judy W.
Having a first pre-Christmas family getaway after 20 years, my husband and I who reside in the Phils. would like it to be perfect. Originally, we've planned to take the kids out from the City to experience the Mt. Hood snow adventure. We are all looking forward doing outside activities like tubing, sledging, skiing and site seeing. Our plans totally changed, instead we only spent half day Saturday outside at timberline and decided to be in the house the rest of the day and bonded with the kids and the grandkids. The ambiance of Rapid River House was very conducive for the family to spend close time together. We all felt very much at home, so much so that none of us wanted to leave. The "Home" became the highlight of our brief vacation. And we definitely plan to do it again. The place made it a difference, our vacation became more than we expected. To others if you rent this home, you will not be disappointed and pleasantly surprised.....We thank the Mt. Hoot Vacation Rental team, Mark and Cary for their great service and attention details. And lastly we would like to thank the owner in furnishing and decorating a beautiful home. From Judy and Steve

11/2013 ~ Website

Beautiful Home

Dan C.
We had a great time. The house is right on the river and could be heard from every bedroom. The hot tub was clean as was the house. We had some friends from Nebraska come out and join us and they had a blast. My wife and I would highly recommend the property to anyone looking for a relaxing, comfortable stay in a beautiful home right on a rushing river. Mt. Hood Vacation Rentals were very helpful and a real pleasure to deal with. We will be back!

07/2013 ~ Website

Rapid River Mediocre

Tia Y.
I've stayed at several Mount Hood Rentals and have rarely been disappointed. While the location of this property on the Sandy River is pretty incredible, the condition of the home itself left some things to be desired. We reserved the house as a getaway when friends from Florida came visit. I was disappointed and a little embarrassed by the cleanliness of the house. Dust was pretty thick in some places and there were crumbs under furniture. We took the master bedroom and were most disappointed with a dark black ring of mildew in the walk-in shower. All of the cabinets and drawers in the kitchen were full, but some of what was inside looked like junk and some of it was broken. Some basic necessities for a trip to the mountains/river were missing like a simple filet knife for the trout we caught at the trout farm. Furthermore, the furniture seemed a little dingy and the phone rang a lot, which is something you don't want to hear on vacation. The location is pristine, the hot tub sparkled, and we thoroughly enjoyed the outdoor fire pit. But, for the amount we paid for this rental, we had higher expectations for what was inside the cabin.

07/2013 ~ Website

Sandy River House - near Mt Hood

Guest
This house was better then the pictures and very comfortable. We will be back.

05/2013 ~ Website

Best Vacation Rental Ever

Guest
The Rapid River Retreat was amazing.

02/2013 ~ Website

Nice place, small fireside area

Michelle S.
We liked the kitchen well-stocked kitchen and the big dining table with the terrific view, but we were a little disappointed that there wasn't much room around the fireplace to hang out -- it felt a bit cramped there. On the whole the place was nice and comfortable.

02/2013 ~ Website

Great stay at Rapid River Retreat

Guest
House was in great condition, had a fabulous view, and the staff at Mt. Hood Vacation Rentals were very professional. The only issue we had at house was the refrigerator light being out. Everything else was fantastic. We would definitely stay again at this property.

01/2013 ~ Website

Family get away weekend

Guest
Great location right on the river. Nice large open floor plan for families. Should have been a little cleaner for our arrival. A few cobwebs hanging from lights and the downstairs toilet needed to be cleaned. Also do not expect to be able to fit an SUV with ski racks in the garage as it is too short! Not good planning for a ski vacation house. Other than a few things we had a very nice stay and our kids enjoyed the hot tub immensely

01/2013 ~ Website

Weekend in Zig Zag

Mara H.
The house and location are fantastic. Well stocked home, nice cabin decor, great hot tub next to the river, and great view of the river from every room in the house. As soon as we arrived I knew I would regret that we could only stay 2 nights, and I will definitely be back. Only complaint was that there weren't many kitchen towels/sponges available for doing dishes, and when we arrived the kitchen didn't look like it had been cleaned.

12/2012 ~ Website

Beautiful house, great views

Desiree T.
The house is very clean, has lots of space, and is well apportioned. The kitchen has exceptional cookware, the hot tub is a nice amenity, and the landscape is stunning!

11/2012 ~ Website

Thanksgiving at Rapid River

Guest
I was a little doubtful that the house would be as nice as others we rented from you because I knew it was in a neighborhood instead of secluded like others. The only house you can see is the property next door and the cabins across the river, however, even though this sound like a lot it actually was very nice. The house itself is beautiful. I have never seen a kitchen so stocked. This made Thanksgiving dinner very easy to do. The decor was amazing. As my husband said, everytime you looked you found something new. The addition of the new flat screen was also nice since we had guys looking forward to the civil war game. Overall we had a wonderful time and will probably rent Rapid River again in the future.

10/2012 ~ Website

First visit at River Rapids

Krissy D.
We've stayed at a few Mt Hood Rentals and tried the River Rapid Retreat this time. We liked the space. The kitchen was fabulous, the upstairs was great and the hot tub was awesome. There were a number of things that were not up to Mt Hood Rentals standards and that was disappointing. They were mostly little things, but added together it felt like MHR was slacking a bit. So the management knows, I will mention some: please make sure the decks are scrubbed and not slippery and slimy from a build up of moss and leaves. We couldn't even walk on them which was disappointing. Also, there weren't enough cleaner salts for the hot tub, there were no memo pads near the phone, and there was no guest book to tell us what to do in town and the rules of the house. These were a few of the little things that added up. It was still a good visit and we would go back. The beds and dining table were great, but the couches and chairs were not that comfortable. I find all the couches and chairs uncomfortable in most of these rentals. It is one of the most important things. I would prefer a good couch and chair to all the decor. I encourage the management to realize the importance of that. I had a bad back act up from the furniture which made the visit not as nice. Also, a rug in the living room would be nice.

09/2012 ~ Website

Our first Mt. Hood weekend

Kannon M.
The house was in a perfect location and we found it exactly as described. There were a couple of small issues not up to par, but nothing that would keep us from coming back. First, none of the outside lights worked, which made getting back a forth to the hot tub a challenge. Understandable because I'm sure the cleaner is only there in daylight hours. Secondly, we found the main living room/kitchen floor dirty. Nothing that a quick trip with the broom didn't fix, but for the money, not something we should have needed to do. Thirdly, we had to unload the dishwasher upon arrival. Again, not a deal breaker, but again, not something that you should have to do at $350 a night. The staff was great to deal with and the house fit our needs perfectly, so I can overlook those small details. I hope to be able to return soon.....

08/2012 ~ Website

A great getaway!

Keily D.
Beautiful home and great location. I would recommend this property to everyone!

06/2012 ~ Website

great escape

John R.
great escape

05/2012 ~ Website

Great time

Jack G.
A great place to stay and do some hiking.

04/2012 ~ Website

rapid river retreat = great

John R.
rapid river retreat = great

03/2012 ~ Website

Rapid River Retreat

Dan L.
The Rapid River Retreat was right on the Sandy and we loved the hot tub.

02/2012 ~ Website

Remote enough but close, too

Jim W.
We had a great stay. Both my wife and I have been working our tails off for the last 3 months and so we definitely needed a break. While our stay was somewhat short, the place was perfect in that we felt that we could have some peace and quiet, alone in the woods yet at the same time, we were close enough to local restaurants and grocery stores that we didn't need to prepare heavily in order to pull it all off. It is also nice to be so close to skiing. We were at Timberline in 20 minutes. The setting is great. The rushing of the small river is perfect. The house is nice. Our 7 year old twins absolutely loved every single minute and want us to move there. If the owners want to sell, let us know...

10/2011 ~ Website

rapid river

Vito D.
Had a very good time, but it looked like no had been in the house for some time. Had a bunch of dead bugs and the toiltes were slighty dirty.

08/2011 ~ Website

Very satisfied

John M.
Would be very happy to return

07/2011 ~ Website

Review By Mark & Sandra M.

Mark &
After WyEast this was a bit of a let we ended up 2 days good access to the river and not very excessible or private.

02/2011 ~ Website

Rapid River Retreat Stay

Guest
First of all our service from Cari at Mt. Hood Vacation Rentals was superb. We felt very secure and confident that she would handle any problems that may come up. She was wonderful to work with. The Rapid River Retreat home was great - better than we expected. The pictures don't show its beauty. It was spotless and there were no odors. We loved listening to the rushing waters outside. The kitchen is so well stocked with spices, etc. The bedrooms and bathrooms were immaculate. The views were just beautiful. Great internet connection.We would love to return!

02/2011 ~ Website

Great escape!

Corey B.
The house was delightful and spacious with some truly cute and ridiculous decorating touches! The location was perfect - set back from any busy roads and right alongside the river. There was plenty of dishes and amenities ready to accommodate a large group. My one suggestion would be to fix the drawer with the trash bin. We had dogs and the drawer wouldn't stay shut. It would be easy to fix with a baby latch to make sure that it wasn't a constant concern.

12/2010 ~ Website

love this spot

Kristi C.
We had a wonderful vacation at Rapid River Retreat over the Christmas holiday. We will definitely be back again. Thank you Mt. Hood Rentals for you impeccable services!

12/2010 ~ Website

Fabulous Way to Spend Christmas!

Sherri I.
We had a fantastic time. The house is wonderfully appointed, fantastic views, and is clean and cozy. The sound of the river is soothing and resful. I highly recommend this home.

08/2010 ~ Website

Amazing vacation -- we love this place even more than Henry Creek Cabin now!

Michael &
The location is honestly unreal and the view from that main floor was outstanding... great house. Loved IT.

08/2010 ~ Website

Rapid River Delight

Guest
Rapid River retreat is our favorite so far. This was our 3rd time renting and we absolutely love the accomodations and service we receive. Highly recommend...

07/2010 ~ Website

Excellent vacation rental

Melissa E.
Very clean, excellent service, great ammenities

February 2023
S M T W T F S
      01 02 03 04
05 06 07 08 09 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28        
March 2023
S M T W T F S
      01 02 03 04
05 06 07 08 09 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
April 2023
S M T W T F S
            01
02 03 04 05 06 07 08
09 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30            
May 2023
S M T W T F S
  01 02 03 04 05 06
07 08 09 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31      
June 2023
S M T W T F S
        01 02 03
04 05 06 07 08 09 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30  
July 2023
S M T W T F S
            01
02 03 04 05 06 07 08
09 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31          
August 2023
S M T W T F S
    01 02 03 04 05
06 07 08 09 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    
September 2023
S M T W T F S
          01 02
03 04 05 06 07 08 09
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
October 2023
S M T W T F S
01 02 03 04 05 06 07
08 09 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        
November 2023
S M T W T F S
      01 02 03 04
05 06 07 08 09 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30    
December 2023
S M T W T F S
          01 02
03 04 05 06 07 08 09
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            
January 2024
S M T W T F S
  01 02 03 04 05 06
07 08 09 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31      
February 2024
S M T W T F S
        01 02 03
04 05 06 07 08 09 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29    
Available
Unavailable
Check-In Only
Check-Out Only


Search Availability

Detailed Quote
Add to Favorites
Inquire
Share
Print