Firwood Cabin

2 Bedrooms 1 Bathrooms Sleeps 4 Rhododendron Dog Friendly

If you need to relax and unwind, the Firwood Cabin is where you will want to spend your Mt Hood vacation. This warm and cozy cabin is located in a quiet, serene setting off the beaten path with awesome views of the Zigzag Mountain range. You will be surrounded by towering tall trees reaching up to the sky on 3 private acres close to Mt Hood National Forest trails for summer and winter fun. However, you may never want to leave this peaceful and relaxing cabin.

This recently remodeled cabin is ideal for a romantic couple’s retreat or for a small family with 2 bedrooms each with a queen bed plus the full bathroom. The spacious great room has been completely remodeled keeping the vintage fir floors and massive fir beams maintaining mountain ambiance, but adding all new kitchen cabinets, counter tops and appliances for modern comforts. The living room area includes streaming TV and a land line phone.

The homeowners are happy to offer guests high speed internet service provided by StarLink. StarLink is top of the line internet satellite service.

Enjoy the backyard deck with the mountain views while you grill dinner on the gas BBQ and enjoy your meal at the outside dining table. Roast marshmallows for dessert while you sit around the firepit sharing stories of the day’s adventures around Mt Hood. You will want to end the evening with a relaxing soak in the private, outdoor hot tub. Your dog is welcome to join you at the Firwood Cabin for an additional charge.

• Forest and Mountain View
• Private 3 Acres
• Open Great Room
• View Windows
• Gas Fireplace
• Fully-Equipped Kitchen
• Queen Bed in 1st Bedroom
• Queen Bed in 2nd Bedroom
• 1 Full Bathroom
• Private, Outdoor Hot Tub
• Deck with Propane BBQ and Furniture
• Streaming TV Service
• Internet Speed: Fast - around 90 Mbps
• Land Line Phone
• Wifi Available
• Washer / Dryer
• Your Dogs are Welcome
• No Smoking
• 953 Square Feet
• Property Elevation: 1820 Feet
• Parking: Max 2 Vehicles, No Street Parking
• Note: Steep snowy road and driveway require traction devices (chains or snow tires) and 4WD for access during the winter
• Sleeps 4
• No Parties, Weddings or Events, Please.
• STR-812-22

*Each home is individually owned. Amenities and furnishings are subject to change at any time. For questions on this, please contact our office.


  • Grill/BBQ
  • Deck/Patio
  • Fire Pit

Nearby Attractions

  • Restaurants
  • Forests
  • Museums
  • Waterfalls
  • Lakes/Rivers


  • Carbon Monoxide Detector
  • Smoke Detectors
  • Fire Extinguisher
  • High Touch Surfaces Cleaned with Disinfectant
  • Towels and Bedding Washed in 60C/140F Water
  • No Contact Check In and Check Out


  • Toaster
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hot Water
  • Dishwasher
  • Stove
  • Microwave
  • Kitchen
  • Cookware


  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron
  • Linens
  • Towels
  • Washer
  • Hangers
  • Parking
  • Fireplace
  • Dryer
  • Driveway
  • Wireless Internet
  • Living Room
  • Bathtub
  • Telephone
  • Dining Area

Sport Activities

  • Cross Country Skiing
  • Cycling
  • Fishing
  • Hiking
  • Kayaking
  • Skiing
  • Mountain Climbing
  • Mountaineering
  • Rock Climbing
  • Whitewater Rafting
  • Sledding
  • Golf
  • Fly Fishing

Local Services

  • Laundromat
  • Groceries
  • Medical Services

Leisure Activities

  • Bird Watching
  • Eco Tourism
  • Paddle Boating
  • Scenic Drives
  • Shopping
  • Sight Seeing
  • Wildlife Viewing

Location Type

  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Ski Resort Nearby
  • Mountain View
  • Rural


  • Mountain
  • Romantic Retreat


  • Private Entrance

Pool and Spa

  • Hot Tub: Private


  • Books
  • Dvd Player
  • TV
  • Board Games
  • Streaming Service Available
02/19/2024 ~ Guest Survey
Quality of Home (Appearance, Amenities & Comfort)
Customer Service
Condition of Home (Maintenance, Wear and Tear & Usability)
This was the perfect cabin getaway for a 4 day weekend, thank you so much!

02/11/2024 ~ Guest Survey
Quality of Home (Appearance, Amenities & Comfort)
Customer Service
Condition of Home (Maintenance, Wear and Tear & Usability)
I looked for a very long time but was never able to find the bear-resistant trash cans outside. Ended up leaving our bagged garbage next to the door in the living room with a note. Hope that's okay


Happy place

Glen S.
We loved the serenity and peace! Thank you for a clean and accommodating stay!

12/12/2023 ~ Guest Survey
Quality of Home (Appearance, Amenities & Comfort)
Customer Service
Condition of Home (Maintenance, Wear and Tear & Usability)
It was an amazing place to stay


Great place to disconnect

Josh S.
Great house. Location is great to get away. Pay attention to their directions to the property. If you need internet or signal during your stay this may not be the place for you. Overall very nice place to stay.


Cute & quiet

Angela S.
We enjoyed our trip to this cute little Rhododendron house. Home is mostly secluded with a nice backyard deck, fire pit and hot tub. Living room is a little small but kitchen and dining had plenty of room. Bedrooms were good sized and comfy. We had one small issue with the hot tub cover but the owner/management was very responsive. We would recommend!


Quiet and peaceful

Jamie T.
Property was very clean, very well stocked and we are already planning on coming back this winter! Overall we had an amazing time and the property was just as advertised


Perfect Staycation Close to Mountain

Aubree K.
The perfect cabin in the woods to relax at after a day on the mountain! The hot tub was amazing. Wi-Fi is pretty spotty so keep that in mind when booking but if you want to be off grid for a few days, it’s perfect.

08/14/2023 ~ Guest Survey
Quality of Home (Appearance, Amenities & Comfort)
Customer Service
Condition of Home (Maintenance, Wear and Tear & Usability)
Great place, was clean and welcoming for our stay. Furnishing were comfortable, beds were nice and firm and we loved the outdoor space and amenities. The hot tub looked like it could have used fresh water and we wish the under counter lighting in the kitchen worked, other than that we had zero issues. We loved it and we will be back!

07/19/2023 ~ Guest Survey
Quality of Home (Appearance, Amenities & Comfort)
Customer Service
Condition of Home (Maintenance, Wear and Tear & Usability)
We really enjoyed our stay! We did have an issue with the door code not working but customer service was quick at helping us access the house. The only thing I felt the house was missing was a cutting board. Otherwise we would totally be back!

04/02/2023 ~ Guest Survey
Quality of Home (Appearance, Amenities & Comfort)
Customer Service
Condition of Home (Maintenance, Wear and Tear & Usability)
It was a great experience! love that we got to see snow, and the house over all was great 🙂

10/2022 ~ Website

Perfect Couple’s Retreat

Geraldine P. Cameron
We had a perfect romantic getaway @ Firwood. Only cons: bed in room w/o skylight, is in need of replacement…every movement shakes the whole bed & the springs (which we could feel) squeaked. Also, still no wi-fi, satellite t.v. or cell coverage. Lastly, invest in some non-stick frying pans & new cookie sheets (the ones we used were pretty beat up!)


Relaxing place to unplug

mark p.
This is a simple relaxing place close to mt hood hiking destinations. Definitely suggest if you need an excuse for the fanily to unplug from the internet and cell phones. Good game collection and nice hot tub.

07/24/2022 ~ Guest Survey
Quality of Home (Appearance, Amenities & Comfort)
Customer Service
Condition of Home (Maintenance, Wear and Tear & Usability)
Lack of wi-fi or cell service was a significant problem that undermined our stay. The home itself, while fundamentally sound, had some wear and tear and functionality of cable problems.

05/15/2022 ~ Guest Survey
Quality of Home (Appearance, Amenities & Comfort)
Customer Service
Condition of Home (Maintenance, Wear and Tear & Usability)
We loved it!!!! Make sure there’s sugar in the sugar bowl next time.

05/01/2022 ~ Guest Survey
Quality of Home (Appearance, Amenities & Comfort)
Customer Service
Condition of Home (Maintenance, Wear and Tear & Usability)
We had no coffee maker and the kitchen heater wasn't working. Management handled both swiftly, bringing us a coffee maker and space heater the next morning. The early morning timber work was a loud and unwelcome surprise but that can't be helped. We enjoyed our stay and the privacy of the cabin and hot tub. Thanks

02/2022 ~ Website

relaxing get away

Daisy A.
It was a cute little cabin. We will definitely stay there again.

01/2022 ~ Website

Perfect get-a-way

It was very clean and up to date. Beds were comfortable. The only thing and it’s a minor one is that we wish we had internet because the satellite only worked 30% of the time. Other than that it was super relaxing.
Manager Response
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Firwood Cabin. Unfortunately, wifi is not available at this location. We are on a waiting list for Starlink, so hopefully soon in the future, there will be a good Internet signal here.

09/2021 ~ Website

Weekend stay at Firwood Cabin

Kim Cederholm
Great weekend!

08/2021 ~ Website

Amazing Cabin!

Tim R.
We just stayed at the Firwood Cabin for the second time, and couldn’t be happier with the property. We will definitely stay here again. The entire cabin immaculately is clean and perfectly maintained. The shower was hot and had decent water pressure, and the beds were comfortable. The hot tub was also super clean, and worked perfectly. The isolated location was wonderful. The only downside to Firwood is that there is no WiFi, and zero cellular service. There is a landline, in case you need to contact anyone or in case of emergency. But after five days, it was kinda nice to not have anything distracting our family from just enjoying each other’s company. There is another home a few hundred feet away, but after about 9:00 at night, you would think you were twenty miles from another human being. And, apart from the times when kids were playing outside nearby, the area is amazingly quiet. The kitchen has everything you could possibly need, and there is a propane grill on the porch. All of the dishes and cutlery were in great shape and didn’t feel or look cheap. There was no AC, but it was significantly cooler than it was in Portland, even during the heat wave. There is also a large washer and dryer, as well as a dishwasher and satellite TV. Check in and check out was contactless, and all correspondence was handled through emails in the days prior to our stay. The entire process couldn’t have been easier. Thank you, Mt. Hood Vacation Rentals, for providing such an amazing little getaway!

08/2021 ~ Website

summer getaway

Lauren D.
lovely house easy clean nice area quiet!

03/2021 ~ Website

Fantastic place for a getaway!

Maria K.
We felt like at home; cozy, beautiful and comfortable! Very quiet area! Loved watching the stars from the bedroom. Fantastic hot tub and patio. Great kitchen and supplies! I referred a few friends to your vacation rentals. Would love to do it again! Thanks a bunch for a great vacation! Nice hiking areas. Very peaceful!

03/2021 ~ Website

Couples weekend

Cozy spot for a quick getaway! Location is good and house is simple and cozy. The only negatives were that the mattresses need to be replaced and there was only 1 wine glass in the house. Overall satisfied with stay otherwise!
Manager Response
Thank you for your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Wine glasses will be restocked this week.

01/2021 ~ Website


Beth F.
It was a beautiful location, very clean and well kept cabin. Very easy to work with the rental agency. It was within walking distance of a river and fairly secluded. Perfect weekend getaway especially with the hot tub

01/2021 ~ Website

Perfect Birthday Getaway

Victoria W.
Rented this cabin with my dog & my boyfriend for my birthday weekend. It was an incredible stay, the hot tub was our go to. Everything was clean & we had everything we needed. Only downside is the TV never actually worked/connected to satellite, which was fine for us as we mainly spent our time in the hot tub or out in the snow near lost lake. We were so sad when it came time to leave. Something about being here away from the city, no internet, no cell service, just away from normal life. It was so refreshing. I couldn't have asked for a more perfect weekend to celebrate my day. We will definitely be back to rent another vacation rental & already started planning our next weekend away!
Manager Response
We have had a service call from Dish TV and they replaced the cable and some other parts and now the satellite TV is working. Sometimes, you can get 1 or 2 bars on cell phones (AT&T and Verizon) in the yard or driveway. There is a land line phone in the house with free long distance for emergencies. This cabin is perfect if you need a respite from screen time.

12/2020 ~ Website


Very pleasant

12/2020 ~ Website

Woodland Relaxation

Firwood is a sweet small, two story rental surrounded by beautiful forests and with only a couple neighbors nearby. This secluded spot is great because it is still close to hwy26 and Welches for groceries. We loved the hot tub, grill and fire pit, and just made sure to bring a lot of our own movies since there is no WiFi or cell service and limited cable options. The room with the skylights is amazing to sleep in and see the stars and wake up to a beautiful sunrise.

12/2020 ~ Website


The firewood cabin was just what we were looking for. Quiet, cozy and convenient. We loved the hot tub!

11/2020 ~ Website

Firwood Cabin over Thanksgiving

We had a wonderful time at the cabin, very quiet and secluded atmosphere.

08/2020 ~ Website


Andrea B.
We stayed in the summer to have sort of a social distancing vacation to salvage some of our summer. This cabin was the perfect size and just far enough out there. It was literally off the grid with no internet. We didn't realize that, but it turned out to be a blessing. We spent lots of time in the hot tub, playing games, reading, and exploring. I would not hesitate to return.

06/2020 ~ Website

Anniversary getaway

Great place to spend a couple of days relaxing with your significant other. Rained most of our trip, but the hot tub and grill area are covered by a roof and we really enjoyed watching the rain fall around us. Directions provided took me right to the cabin with no problems.

01/2020 ~ Website

Beautiful, cozy cabin, but hard to find!

I arrived late on a Friday night and followed clear instructions from Mt. Hood Vacation Rentals on how to pick u my key from the office. The office is right off the highway and easy to find. However, I found the map they provided to be lacking in detail and the roads were not clearly marked. After taking two turns off the main highway, my phone lost service. Therefore, I could not use GPS or call the emergency line for help. Because it was late and dark, I drove around a few different private drives until finally finding an address post with a number that differed by my cabin's address by only a few digits. (The post for my cabin was not there). So I assumed my house must be on the next private drive. I understand that a remote cabin is going to be situated far from the main road and that natural signage from the town may be limited, but I think Mt. Hood Vacation Rentals could have posted signs of their own and / or provided a more detailed map. It also became obvious to me that one of the critical street signs with the house address was not posted at an intersection between mine and my neighbor's house. I wonder if this cabin is new or if the sign has fallen down. Other than that, my stay was very pleasant and peaceful. The cabin was clean, felt spacious yet cozy, and the hot tub was refreshing after long days of riding and skiing. I also enjoyed all of the natural light that radiated through he cabin's skylights and windows from the morning sun. I would definitely book another stay with Mt. Hood Vacation Rentals, but perhaps plan to arrive during daylight 😉
Manager Response
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Firwood Cabin. We will check into the signage; there were 3 address signs at one time, one at each turn, so maybe one has gone missing.

08/2019 ~ Website

Firewood cabin

Nicole &
We loved our experience at this cabin. It is nestled quietly in the woods. We were able to enjoy a lightning storm while we were in the covered hot tub. It's nice to get away from social media and just spend time with the ones we love. Very clean and has everything you need to be comfortable. Everyone during check in were super helpful and nice. Not far from hiking or the river.
Manager Response
We are so glad you had such a nice quiet and unplugged time at the Firwood Cabin. And how awesome to watch a lightning storm while you were warm and cozy in the hot tub.

07/2019 ~ Website

Great time

Lucretia K.
We stayed at the Firwood Cabin for fourth of July and my wife's birthday. It was so peaceful and beautiful there we didn't want to leave. We loved the surrounding nature. The hot tub and barbequing on the grill were also highlights for us.
Manager Response
We love the quiet peacefulness at the Firwood Cabin, too. We are happy that it was so nice for your wife's birthday celebration.

07/2019 ~ Website

Nice getaway

Lauren J.
Pros: super comfortable, quiet, clean. The hot tub was amazing after a hike, and the scenery was beautiful! Full stocked kitchen with all of the tools we needed to make meals. Communication with the property managers was quick and clear. Cons: Dog poop and broken glass in the yard when we arrived. No wifi or call service.
Manager Response
We are happy to know that you enjoyed the Firwood Cabin so much. We do state in the listing that this home does not have wifi and the cell service is very spotty; there is a land line phone with long distance in the cabin. The yard should have been cleaned up better; we apologize that it was not.

04/2019 ~ Website

A quiet get~away

Rachael D.
We had a lovely weekend at Firwood Cabin. I do have to say, it looks and feels a bit different than in the pictures. We were hoping for a bit more of a "cozy" feel. Had a pretty bad ant problem in the bathroom ( but who doesn't right now)... but other than that, we were satisfied with our stay.
Manager Response
We are happy to hear that you had a lovely weekend at the Firwood Cabin and not so happy to know that the cabin did not meet your expectations. We do have a few other cabins to choose from that may feel a bit more cozy to you; please call us the next time so we can direct you to the best choice for your vacation. We are resolving the moisture ant problem.

02/2019 ~ Website

Everything was perfect- Loved it

Preston W.
This was our 3 year anniversary retreat, it was fantastic, the cabin was beautiful and we loved getting away just the 2 of us, there was so much snow on the ground the previous resident build us an igloo! 10/10 loved it.
Manager Response
Happy Anniversary! So glad you had a wonderfully quiet getaway in the snow at the Firwood Cabin.

08/2018 ~ Website

Our 10 Year Anniversary!!

Josh S.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Firwood cabin. It was really nice and peaceful. I think the only thing that we had a problem with is the TV and what channels are available and what aren’t, as well as access to movies.
Manager Response
Happy Anniversary! We are happy that you chose to stay at the Firwood Cabin to celebrate. Thank you for the head's up with the satellite TV; we will take a look at it to make sure everything is in order.

08/2018 ~ Website

Pretty nice place

James &
Pretty nice, clean cabin. Two things we could use: fly swatter, toaster. Hot tub was great, just too hot.
Manager Response
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Mt Hood. We have had a lot of flying insects at Mt Hood this year. We think it is due to the hot dry weather. The toaster is in the lower kitchen cupboard next to the dishwasher. The hot tub has been registering at 104 every time we are there which is at minimum once a week. If that temperature is too hot for you, the water temp will go down fairly quickly when the lid is off.

07/2018 ~ Website

Great escspe close to home

Duane R.
Charming two story with hot tub and nice deck. No internet cell phone service. Quiet and peaceful. Mt Hood vacations was great to work with as well.

06/2018 ~ Website

Relaxing location

Rick or
We just wanted to get away for a few days to celebrate our anniversary (49 yrs) and just be with each other without the pressures of daily living. We found it! What a wonderful, relaxing time we had. No internet, no cell phone; just relaxing, reading, soaking in the hot tub, and listening to birds chirp. We will be back.
Manager Response
Congratulations on 49 years! And we are so happy to hear that you had a relaxing retreat at the Firwood Cabin.

02/2018 ~ Website

New favorite

Todd D.
Very nice layout. Comfortable. Hot tub not overtreated and pleasant to relax in. More private than most places we have stayed. Full time neighbor but were no issues worth mentioning.

01/2018 ~ Website

Great little cabin!

Jason B.
Perfect cabin for a small family, or 2 couples. The house was clean, quiet, had everything we needed, and everything worked. Close to restaurants and the slopes.

01/2018 ~ Website

Great little getaway!

Shelby C.
My family stayed here for a weekend of relaxing and spending time together. The cabin was extremely clean and had all the comforts of home. It is conveniently located to shops, restaurants and outdoor fun!

07/2017 ~ Website

Almost perfect!

Teresa V.
My husband and I rented this cabin for our 10th Anniversary. We brought along our 4 legged pups. The cabin itself is great. All the amenities you could need. The hot tub was a special treat that we looked forward to and the view of the mountain while relaxing in the hot tub did not disappoint! There are 2 down sides to this rental. First, you can see your neighbors. Second, the neighbors dog came up to the cabin daily, multiple times. This unfortunately added unwanted stress to our weekend getaway. We weren't able to be outside with our dogs off the leash without worry and anxiety. We couldn't let the dogs outside with us while we were in the hot tub due to the frequent unexpected 4 legged guest, which caused them to whine inside the cabin. For these reasons we personally would not rent this cabin again.
Manager Response
We are happy to know that you enjoyed the cabin for all of its amenities and features. We have never seen the neighbor dog, so we appreciate the head's up. We will talk with them about keeping it on their property.

12/2016 ~ Website

Fir Wood

Everything as advertised.

11/2016 ~ Website

A lovely Thanksgiving at the Firwood Cabin

Tia S.
My family & I had a wonderful Thanksgiving at the Firwood Cabin! We had a quiet & relaxing holiday. I was worried about having enough dishes to cook our traditional meal, however the cabin was stocked with everything we needed! We loved that there wasn't any cell service there. We were able to disconnect and enjoy family time together. We would love to make this a tradition!
Manager Response
We are pleased to offer a vacation home at Mt Hood that provides an unplugged vacation and we are happy that this worked out for you. We look forward to seeing your family again next Thanksgiving.

11/2016 ~ Website

Great Stay

Jason J.
Quiet, comfortable and exactly what we were hoping for. Very clean, nice and cozy. Would highly recommend to anyone wanting a weekend away.
Manager Response
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your visit to the Firwood Cabin. Please come see us again.

10/2016 ~ Website

3 days in the woods

Tim D.
enjoyed the cabin, and the Hot tub.. was exactly what we were looking for..
Manager Response
We are happy that you had such a nice time at the Firwood Cabin. Please come see us again soon.

09/2016 ~ Website

A Wonderful Romantic Getaway

My husband and I celebrated our 25th anniversary at the property. So glad we did! We loved not having cell or wifi service-- gave us the excuse to focus on each other and a much needed rest. The house and yard are in private and beautiful surroundings. It is secluded by trees and bushes but there is a house within view of the backyard. We enjoyed the hot tub, wandered around the outside property, and relaxed with movies. We will return!
Manager Response
Happy Anniversary and congratulations on 25 years! The Firwood Cabin is our one and only vacation rental without wifi, so it is perfect for getting away from your electronics for a weekend. So happy to know you had a great time enjoying each other's company. Come back soon!

09/2016 ~ Website

Wonderful honeymoon spot

Melanie G.
This was then end of an amazing yrip. This house was so well stocked and clean. The home was cozy warm and neat. This is an amazing spot to go.
Manager Response
Congratulations! We are so excited to know that you had a fabulous honeymoon and your visit at the Firwood Cabin was the icing on the wedding cake. We would love to see you again next year for your anniversary.

08/2016 ~ Website

Firewood Cabin

Jonathan R.
The cabin was very clean and secluded. The privacy was perfect for a quick getaway.
Manager Response
So good to know you had a great vacation at the Firwood Cabin. We look forward to your next visit to Mt Hood.

07/2016 ~ Website

Cozy cabin

Carey L.
Very relaxing with times by the fire or soaking in the hot tub The weather was perfect, we grilled and spent our time playing lawn games during the day. The dogs loved running around and playing Staff were very friendly and helpful. Plan on coming back in the winter months
Manager Response
it is good to know that the people and the dogs all had a fun vacation at the Firwood Cabin. You will especially like the Firwood Cabin during the winter with snow on the ground.

05/2016 ~ Website

Nice, quiet getaway

Doug R.
Good times, no complaints!

02/2016 ~ Website

great time

Karen W.
The cabin was very homey and comfortable. Loved the hot tub!
Manager Response
The Firwood Cabin is one of our most popular getaways for a quiet and relaxed Mt Hood vacation.

01/2016 ~ Website

Great little cabin!

Matt M.
WE visited in January and there was plenty of snow on the ground. Facility is well maintained and just what we were looking for. We will definitely be back!!
Manager Response
We like knowing that you had a nice snow vacation at Firwood Cabin. This off-the-beaten track cabin is ideal for a relaxing retreat at Mt Hood. We look forward to your next visit.

12/2015 ~ Website

Winter Wonderland at Firwood

Susan W.
We had a fantastic winter vacation at the Firwood cabin! We would definitely stay there again.
Manager Response
Glad to hear you had a fabulous winter visit at Firwood Cabin. We look forward to your next visit.

10/2015 ~ Website

Firwood cabin

Michael B.
An excellent escape to relax !!

07/2015 ~ Website

Firwood Cabin

Great cabin. Went to escape the fireworks and enjoyed a quiet weekend in a relatively secluded cabin. Cabin was well kept and had a nice amount of yard and space around it to relax outdoors without being too close to the neighbors.
Manager Response
We like the quiet around here in the summer, too.

04/2015 ~ Website

Wonderful but not secluded

Nicholas W.
Our stay was wonderful, great for hiking, biking, relaxation, and unplugging. One complaint is that the neighbors are literally 50 ft away separated by a berm and a small line of trees clearly visible from the deck and we had neighbors and their dogs on the rental property on multiple occasions. Not secluded as advertised.
Manager Response
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the Firwood Cabin. We apologize that other people were on the property. That should not have happened.

04/2015 ~ Website

Highly recommended

Jack and
My girlfriend and I had a great weekend here. The cabin was clean and had all need amenities. The hot tub was great and the outside deck and small firepit were nice. The only downside was no wifi. We would go here again.

02/2015 ~ Website

Happy campers

Alison R.
We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend in the woods at the Firwood Cabin. The kitchen was clean, pretty, and very functional. The space was perfect for 2 adult couples. The highlight was actually the backyard area, with the firepit, deck, and hot tub all laid out perfectly. Thank you for for a great experience!
Manager Response
So glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to the Firwood Cabin.

10/2014 ~ Website

Lovely Cabin - not really secluded though

We had a fantastic stay at Firwood Cabin because we were looking for a place to get away from the city and just relax. The property is well-maintained and our stay was enjoyable; however, we were surprised to arrive at our "secluded" cabin and see that two neighbors were right next door on each side - the cabin may sit on 3 acres, but it is right at the front with the other houses. The acreage is also largely hilly and inaccessible. Other than the very close neighbors, the cabin met our needs to get away from everything and spend some quiet time alone though.

09/2014 ~ Website

Mt Hood Hideaway

Jeff E.
Great place, love sitting out at night by the fire and watching the stars! No wifi and no cell reception was a true blessing!

07/2014 ~ Website

Perfect Retreat!

Kate W.
We had such a great time at the cabin. It was the perfect set up for us, relaxing and private. The home was immaculate and we loved the indoor/outdoor options. The only hiccup was the power went out one morning for a few hours but PGE got it back on (area issue, not just this home.) I totally want to come back and spend every weekend up here!

05/2014 ~ Website

Peaceful romantic getaway

Sam R.
The cabin was clean with freshly updated amenities. The view of the forest and mountain from the backyard and hot tub was so relaxing. The kitchen was well equipped. The fire-pit was a bonus and we had s'mores almost every night! Maybe consider moving the sofa so it's in front of the tv. We were a little surprised that on 3 acres the neighbors were only about 50 yards away. But luckily we hardly noticed them. Covered parking was convenient as were the washer and dryer and complimentary laundry soap. Our dog Jasper had fun watching the chipmunks and blue jays! We didn't see Sasquatch this time...but we'll be visiting again!

04/2014 ~ Website

A beautiful and relaxing weekend away

Tia S.
The location of the cabin is perfect! The cabin was gorgeous and exactly what we had hoped for! The hot tub was the icing on top. I will definitely be visiting again! Cari was very friendly and helped with all my silly questions!

03/2014 ~ Website

great value in a secluded location

Jenn K.
We had a nice, peaceful stay. Perfect for a romantic couple's weekend or cozy family retreat. The hot tub was a big plus on that rainy, foggy weekend. Most of everything we needed was available. Pleasant surprises included an ice maker and doggy poo bags. We would have appreciated another afghan/throw or two for cozying up on the couch, and hooks in the laundry area for hanging hot-tubbing towels. Soap is provided but bring your own shampoo. The staff was a pleasure to deal with. We will be back!
Manager Response
Glad to hear you enjoyed your relaxing vacation at Firwood Cabin. Thank you for the suggestions for hooks and throw blankets. Both are easy to do and will be in place for your next visit.

02/2014 ~ Website

Honesty is the Best Policy

The cabin and property were as lovely and secluded as advertised. The rental agency was kind enough to reschedule our reservation even though we did not purchase the travel insurance. They were prompt in sending a snow plow so we could get back to town on the morning of check out after we called them to say the snow was deep and covered with ice and we had no electricity. The cabin had a well-stocked pantry of spices and decent cookware. For the bathroom, however, there were no back up paper products. Additionally, on the day of check in, they were less than honest with us. We left Portland early in an effort to stay ahead of the freezing rain forecast for the afternoon. We called the rental agency prior to leaving to see if we'd be able to check in early if we arrived early. The agent told us to stop by the office when we got to town and she'd see what she could do. While we did not expect to be able to check in as soon as we arrived, it was only 1:30 after all, we did not expect to have to wait until 4 PM, the official check in time, so we sat in our car in the parking lot and watched the snow fall. At 3 PM, the agent left the office without a word to us. There was a sign on the door indicating she'd be back at 3:30. Meanwhile, another employee arrived at the rental office. We asked her if we could check in yet. She told us there was no one available to do the check in process. At 4 PM, we were finally able to check in and obtain the keys and directions to the property. The woman who had earlier told us no one was available to check us in was the person who retrieved our reservation and handed us the keys. If they did not intend to let us check in before 4 PM, that's what they should have told us when we called and when we arrived at the office. We probably would still have waited in the car in the parking lot, but we would not have been left with the bad taste of dishonesty in our mouths and we will likely NOT rent from this agency again because o
Manager Response
Gosh, so sorry for the miscommunications. With the several feet of new snow that day, everyone was busy getting vacation homes ready for check-ins. We apologize that we did not communicate clearly that an early check-in would not be possible that day. We always inspect homes prior to check-in, so typically the earliest we can have a home ready for a early check-in is 2 PM under the best circumstances. On this Friday, we had to go with our normal 4 PM check-in.

11/2013 ~ Website

Nice cabin but did not live up to our expecations

Cassie N.
The Firwood Cabin was absolutely beautiful and cozy however it did not live up to our expectations. After I made the reservation online someone from the Mt Hood Rentals office called immediately to confirm and was very friendly. She even made separate call to ask which kind of pie we wanted but when we arrived at the cabin there was no pie so im not sure why they went the extra mile in the first place. Also the VRBO website claims the cabin has wifi which is not the case. We wouldnt have minded not having WIFI but because we were expecting to it was a big set back. The info binder in the cabin states that some of the Mt Hood Vacation Rentals have WIFI but not all. It would be very helpful if all the websites that show this rental have the correct information. Lastly there was no dishwashing detergent and we had to go to the store and buy some.
Manager Response
Gosh, the person who called and asked about the pie, forgot to make sure it was in the cabin - that should not have happened. When you come back, we will make sure there is pie for you. We do not list on VRBO, so I am wondering if that was a different cabin that you looked at that indicated there was wifi. Wifi is not available in the area where this cabin is located, so we have known all along that there would be no wifi, we are sorry for the confusion. There should have been dishwashing detergent for you. We would have been happy to bring some up during your visit.

10/2013 ~ Website

Serene Honeymoon

Stephen V.
Absolutely perfect for our honeymoon. Thank you very much.

09/2013 ~ Website

Cant wait to rent again!

Andrew S.
We love Mt. Hood Rentals. #rd cabin rental from them and we are always very satisfied. The weekend couldn't have any better.

March 2024
          01 02
03 04 05 06 07 08 09
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
April 2024
  01 02 03 04 05 06
07 08 09 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        
May 2024
      01 02 03 04
05 06 07 08 09 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
June 2024
02 03 04 05 06 07 08
09 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
July 2024
  01 02 03 04 05 06
07 08 09 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31      
August 2024
        01 02 03
04 05 06 07 08 09 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
September 2024
01 02 03 04 05 06 07
08 09 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30          
October 2024
    01 02 03 04 05
06 07 08 09 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    
November 2024
          01 02
03 04 05 06 07 08 09
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
December 2024
01 02 03 04 05 06 07
08 09 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        
January 2025
      01 02 03 04
05 06 07 08 09 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
February 2025
02 03 04 05 06 07 08
09 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28  
March 2025
02 03 04 05 06 07 08
09 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31          
Check-In Only
Check-Out Only

Search Availability

Detailed Quote
Add to Favorites