Crystal Creek Chalet

4 Bedrooms 3 Bathrooms Sleeps 10 Welches Dog Friendly

Crystal Creek Chalet

Crystal Creek Chalet provides a secluded and restful setting along the Salmon River for Mt Hood getaways. Take in the panoramic views of Hunchback Mountain and the Salmon River from the deck and dining room or enjoy the scenic meadows, creeks, and ponds while strolling through the naturally landscaped grounds. A short 5-minute walk down a wooded trail will lead you to the banks of the Salmon River where you can dip your toes during the summer or cast a line for salmon or steelhead.

Prepare a meal on the gas BBQ on the deck overlooking the river and enjoy spending time with your friends and family while you share stories of your day’s adventures exploring Mt Hood. Hike along the trails on the property and watch for deer in the meadow at dawn and dusk every day. Winter snow provides your own private snow play area in the yard.

Curl up on the sofa with a good book in front of the fireplace or watch TV, movies or sporting events in the vaulted great room accented with burnished knotty pine walls. You will be close to Mt Hood activities like hiking and biking trails, restaurants and shops.

This 3-level, 4-bedroom lodge provides plenty of privacy and space for 10 guests with 1 king bed, 3 queen beds and 1 full bed and 3 bathrooms. Your dogs are welcome to join you at the Crystal Creek Chalet for an additional charge.

•Overlooking the Salmon River in Welches
•Private Acreage: Ponds, Meadows and Trails
•2 Wood-burning Fireplaces
•Starter Supply of Firewood Provided
•Fully-Equipped Kitchen
•1 King Bed in Downstairs Bedroom
•2 Queen Beds in 2nd Downstairs Bedroom
•1 Full Bed in the 1st Upstairs Bedroom
•1 Queen Bed in the 2nd Upstairs Bedroom
•3 Full Bathrooms
•Indoor Jetted Soaking Tub
•Deck with Propane BBQ and Deck Furniture
•Streaming TV
•Land Line Phone w / Free Long Distance (limited cell service)
•Internet Speed: Medium - 20 - 100 Mbps
•Washer / Dryer
•Your Dog is Welcome
•Note: Snowy roads and steep driveway require traction devices (chains or snow tires) and 4WD for access during the winter
•No Smoking
•2656 Square Feet
•Property Elevation: 1350 Feet
•Parking: Max 4 Vehicles, No Street Parking
•Sleeps 10
•No Parties, Weddings or Events, Please.

*Each home is individually owned. Amenities and furnishings are subject to change at any time. For questions on this, please contact our office.

Nearby Attractions

  • Restaurants
  • Forests
  • Museums
  • Waterfalls
  • Lakes/Rivers
  • Winery Tours


  • Carbon Monoxide Detector
  • Smoke Detectors
  • Fire Extinguisher
  • No Contact Check In and Check Out
  • High Touch Surfaces Cleaned with Disinfectant
  • Towels and Bedding Washed in 60C/140F Water
  • First Aid Kit


  • Toaster
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Hot Water
  • Dishwasher
  • Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Kitchen
  • Cookware


  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens
  • Towels
  • Hangers
  • Parking
  • Jetted tub
  • Fireplace
  • Air Conditioning
  • Dryer
  • Driveway
  • Wireless Internet
  • Iron
  • Living Room
  • Washer
  • Wood Stove
  • Bathtub
  • Walk-In Shower
  • Telephone
  • Dining Area
  • Dining Room
  • Internet

Sport Activities

  • Cross Country Skiing
  • Fishing
  • Hiking
  • Kayaking
  • Skiing
  • Mountain Climbing
  • Mountaineering
  • Rock Climbing
  • Whitewater Rafting
  • Cycling
  • Sledding

Local Services

  • Laundromat
  • Groceries
  • Medical Services

Leisure Activities

  • Bird Watching
  • Eco Tourism
  • Scenic Drives
  • Shopping
  • Sight Seeing
  • Wildlife Viewing

Location Type

  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Ski Resort Nearby
  • Riverfront
  • River View
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
  • Water View


  • Mountain
  • Privacy: Secluded


  • Private Entrance


  • Deck/Patio
  • Grill/BBQ


  • Books
  • TV
  • Board Games
  • Streaming Service Available

3 night stay november

Jeffrey L.
Great family home, comfortable, beautiful scenery. Needs some updating including furniture(broken chair in living room) dishwasher, shower door in basement. Minor items but overall a wonderful stay

11/28/2023 ~ Guest Survey
Quality of Home (Appearance, Amenities & Comfort)
Customer Service
Condition of Home (Maintenance, Wear and Tear & Usability)
Fantastic family home. Very comfortable and clean. we enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere along the Salmon River. Would really benefit by upgrading the furniture (worn), dishwasher(works but funky), downstairs shower. We would definitely return.


Family gathering

Stephen N.
Clean, spacious, well-appointed house with lovely view and great location. Nice starter supplies of paper towels, coffee filters dishwashing liquid, etc. enough wood for one fire. House is darker than pictures show but that is a minor complaint. I would stay here again. Path to river is halfway down the road with a small sign. Checkin code needs to be followed by a star. Use Wi-Fi code on refrigerator, not in book.


Family outing

Gary L.
Very special chalet with privacy and wonderful nature walks . Overlooks the salmon river and well appointed for large family. Would stay again.

09/11/2023 ~ Guest Survey
Quality of Home (Appearance, Amenities & Comfort)
Customer Service
Condition of Home (Maintenance, Wear and Tear & Usability)
Loved the views


Winter Birthdays, Early Christmas Kane family hangout

Karen K.
We had hoped for snow on the ground, but instead we enjoyed relaxing together indoors watching TV, playing games & puzzles, nature walks, brilliant views and good food.


Large cozy cabin in the woods

Nicholas B.
This is a big space, with an amazing view in a really beautiful location. The house is large, the kitchen decent, and plenty of rooms. For our stay, it worked great. The house itself has some quirks, but for the price it's great. Would come again.


Very nice

Bryan I.
Everything was wonderful. We were a bit disappointed that there is no way to get to the river. The entry code did not work but a simple phone call fixed the problem. We did run out of propane which caused a bit of a problem.

07/23/2023 ~ Guest Survey
Quality of Home (Appearance, Amenities & Comfort)
Customer Service
Condition of Home (Maintenance, Wear and Tear & Usability)
This place was incredible, beautiful, and serene! We will definitely be back!

02/27/2023 ~ Guest Survey
Quality of Home (Appearance, Amenities & Comfort)
Customer Service
Condition of Home (Maintenance, Wear and Tear & Usability)
Excellent stay, couple of bedrooms were small but overall a really good experience

02/13/2023 ~ Guest Survey
Quality of Home (Appearance, Amenities & Comfort)
Customer Service
Condition of Home (Maintenance, Wear and Tear & Usability)
We loved the stay and hope to rebook next year at Crystal Creek Chalet. It was awesome for our whole family.

01/10/2023 ~ Guest Survey
Quality of Home (Appearance, Amenities & Comfort)
Customer Service
Condition of Home (Maintenance, Wear and Tear & Usability)
Amazing place.


Great place. This is not a hot tub.

Matthew S.
Excellent. Hot tub was a disappointment!

12/2021 ~ Website

Very good!

Alla K.
We Happy!

11/2021 ~ Website

Memorable 3rd birthday getaway

Jeremy T.
Got the opportunity to get away for our sons 3rd birthday and stay in the Crystal Creek Chalet. What a amazing cabin and setting. Our son absolutely loved the cabin, and also the property and animals. We got to see deer in the meadow and a bald eagle flew the salmon river corridor a couple different times. We will absolutely be back!

08/2021 ~ Website

Wonderful Place

Robert B.
The place is wonderful. It is great for some R&R. The scenery is to die for. The only suggestion is that the cabinets could be condensed for those who bring groceries for a longer stay. It's a bit of a nuisance to cook having to have everything on the countertops. I would definetly stay here again.

07/2021 ~ Website


Janice H.
Amazing views and secluded. The cabinI has everything you need and is close to everything. It is a great location. Beautiful views from the deck and the river below is so pretty. Loved the sound of the rushing water. Loved the cabin. We walked 2 trails on the property down to the river, I highly recommend this wonderful cabin !

07/2021 ~ Website

Quiet and secluded in nature

Relaxing and beautiful views with the feel of being deep in nature.

04/2021 ~ Website

Love this house!!!

Great house with a beautiful view and so much space! We had such a blast!

02/2021 ~ Website

Very nice home/cabin near Mt. Hood

Greg K.
Very nice home and grounds. We had everything we needed and appreciated the warmth and space. The only downside is that the lower bedroom had a persistent banging in the ceiling when the heater was on. However, we would come back.

02/2021 ~ Website

Great Stay, except for snow storm

David B.
The location was great for a get away this winter. We experienced a big snow storm which made it really difficult to get out. We recommend bringing a snow shovel or two just incase so you can dig yourself out because they were not provided.

12/2020 ~ Website

Great snow getaway

Susan L.
We had a fantastic time. Arrived Friday to it snowing all night and Saturday was blue sky. Great for hiking right from the house. The views from the house are amazing. The house was very spacious bedrooms were great size. We had a fire going the whole time.

11/2020 ~ Website


Bernadette H.
What a gem! Lights on and so welcoming when we showed up! Perfect getaway from everything and so beautiful on the river!

10/2020 ~ Website

Family Vacation 2020

Richard Z.
Once a year we book a vacation that includes our immediate family, and for 2020, we decided last year we would like to do something different, and that would be a cabin getaway. The Crystal Creek Chalet was exactly what wew were hoping for. The cabin was very clean, well stocked with all of the ammenities. The beds were very comfortable, the surrounding woods were tranquil and serene, we cannot wait to return.

09/2020 ~ Website

Forest Chalet Centrally Located to Oregon Landmarks

Amy H.
We greatly enjoyed our stay at the chalet with its large windows, deck overlooking the river, and secludedness from neighbors. The river was viewed from the deck, but not accessible from the house, and we enjoyed sitting out and enjoying the peaceful setting. There was a field and pond on the property, but we weren't lucky to see any wildlife. It is worth noting that all bedrooms were either downstairs or upstairs, making it challenging to those with limited mobility as the stairs were steep to the basement, and the bannister was wobbly upstairs. The house was comfortable and featured woodsy decor, a well-stocked kitchen, and a quirky but fun layout (bathroom off the kitchen, hot tub indoors) but could have used some more niceties (extra towels) and home repairs (lots of horseflies in the basement, wobbly bannister, jammed shower door, non-working thermostat, non-locking lockbox). The laundry center was very appreciated, as we didn't have to pack as much on our trip. The Mt Hood Vacation Rentals staff were quick to respond to the non-working items, and sent out a repairman on a Sunday, who was very nice and professional. Unfortunately, we stayed during the fierce windstorm and fires that affected the region, and our power was shut off preemptively, spending a scary night in the dark. Mt. Hood Vacation Rentals sent out an email about the upcoming power outage; however we were unable to access it in time. It would have been nice if the company reached out to us by phone as well, both before and after the windstorm. The property was just a few minutes from Highways 26 and 35, and located centrally among the Mt. Hood villages and lots of local hiking opportunities. It was only an hour or less away from Portland, the Columbia River Gorge, Hood River, and all the landmark waterfalls too. Overall, we had a fun and relaxing time (before the natural disasters) and recommend the Crystal Creek Chalet in Mt. Hood to all.
Manager Response
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Crystal Creek Chalet. There is a trail to the river about half way down the driveway.

03/2020 ~ Website

A great reTREAT

Jeff L.
It was an idyllic setting and wonderful to get to experience some late winter snowfall in the serene backdrop of mount hood.

09/2019 ~ Website

Great Getaway

John O.
We spent the weekend exploring Mt. hood trails and this house was a perfect home base. The long private drive quickly let you know it's very secluded as advertised. the house layout was nice with a large great room and kitchen. The large deck and fantastic view put the house over the top. I'd definitely stay here again.

04/2019 ~ Website

Sisters birthday bash

Karen J.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the chalet. With 4 bedrooms we had plenty of room to sleep the six of us. The large table in the diningroom made it comfortable to play cards without affecting our eating breakfast at the table by the kitchen. Too bad we hit a rainy season, but we managed to find some sun on the day trip to the ocean and again on our last day. Luckily, the rain was somewhat intermittent and lightly falling most of the day.The office personnel were very friendly and willing to accept the delivery and pickup of a rental scooter the day before we arrived.
Manager Response
Sister vacations are the best and we are so happy to hear it all went so well. You did hit us during our rainy spring. Please come back during the summer or fall for some sunnier weather.

02/2019 ~ Website

Super nice, private/isolated

Overall very nice, lovely stay, with the exception that one bed was absolutely covered in dog hair. Very private/isolated house. Great view over the river.
Manager Response
The Salmon River view at the Crystal Creek Chalet is amazing. You can walk to the river; the trail starts about 1/2 way down the driveway. We apologize about the dog hair; that should not have been the case. We look forward to your next visit.

11/2018 ~ Website

A great getaway

Mercedes B.
It was a great everyone had a great time it was an amazing beautiful I love it and I’m going to wait another one very soon
Manager Response
So glad everyone had a great time at the Crystal Creek Chalet. We are looking forward to your next visit.

10/2018 ~ Website

Beautiful location

Everything was lovely. The house and location were perfect for our retreat. Folks could take breaks by going outside for walks, hang out by the pond and/or the river. Thank you. side note: the entry level shower door needs repair; right side of slider comes easily off track.
Manager Response
We are happy to hear that your retreat at the Crystal Creek Chalet was perfect. Thank you for the note about the shower door. We look forward to your next visit.

04/2018 ~ Website

Fantastic place with an unparalleled view

Sanjay N.
Mt Hood vacation rentals helped made what could easily have been a stressful planning experience for a trip involving 10 people a breeze! Their expert staff was at hand to answer any questions/concerns. We stayed at the Crystal Creek Chalet which was overlooking the white salmon river (which is audible in the house/patio). The house is located on a large area and is surrounded by the typical Pacific NW wilderness. It was an absolute delight to stay here given the surroundings. The house itself was clean and well maintained with an indoor jacuzzi.
Manager Response
It is our pleasure to assist you and we are happy that you had such a relaxing and good time at the Crystal Creek Chalet.

02/2018 ~ Website

Tranquility with a view.

Beautiful views in a peaceful, rustic setting. Great big dinning room and living room areas made it easy and comfortable for our group to congregate together. Bedrooms are cramped and spartan with what sounded like heading duck noise. Overall a fun house to stay in.

11/2017 ~ Website

Nice gathering place!

Tawnya T.
Nice property for large groups, however, my husband and I were the only occupants except for day visits. I would have preferred a main level bedroom. The stairs going down are extremely steep and could pose a danger for elderly visitors. There is a smell of fireplace must which was a little hard to get used to in the beginning. I'm not sure how one could rid that smell. The kitchen is fully stocked 4 complete meal makings, baking Etc. It is a pet friendly home which was nice for us to bring our dog. The acreage is very nice especially for hiking and exploring with your pets.
Manager Response
We love the coziness of this classic cabin with the acreage and views, too. It is ideal for visitors with dogs and active people. We do have other cabins that are one-level or two-level with easier to navigate steps. We are happy to assist with choosing the perfect cabin for our guests.

10/2017 ~ Website

Fall fun on the mountain

Took the wife and kids up here to carve pumpkins and watch scary movies before Halloween. It was perfect for that! The place is gorgeous and had lots of Windows to see the beautiful Fall Foliage. We had a great stay. Thank you ��
Manager Response
So glad you had a fun and scary Halloween gathering with your family. See you next year.

09/2017 ~ Website

Wonderful 4 day retreat in the woods

The staff at Mt Hood Vacation Rentals was fantastic! The house was easy to be in, comfortable and easy to hang out in. Incredibly beautiful location. Peaceful, restful, and just gorgeous. Easy access to other Mt Hood sites: hiking trails, Timberline Lodge, restaurants, grocery store. The stairs to the bedrooms in the basement were very steep, challenging for some of us older folks. And it looks like they are trying to deal with a problem with mice.

08/2017 ~ Website

200 forested acres and riverfront all to yourself

Setting: superb. 200 acres of fir forest and river front to call your own. House: odd but workable. Only bedrooms are up or down very steep stairs. One switch controlled the light in a bathroom on another floor! Common areas pleasant. Kitchen equipment and pantry lack some basics, but workable.

06/2017 ~ Website

Crystal Creek Chalet

Patty W.
We came to Mt Hood for our Father's 85th Birthday, I live in Portland but my brothers flew in from different states one being as far as DC. the scenery on this property was spectacular and we all had a great time and really enjoyed our trip. when we sat in the living room looking out the windows all we could see was trees, a very nice view! my only complaint is that the property was advertised with a pond stocked with trout. my Dad even called and was told the same, I called a few days before and was told that they were not sure if the pond was stocked and that I was left a message that they no longer did that, I did not receive a message and even if I had and wanted to switch to a place closer for fishing it would have been too late as we were only days away. I am very disappointed with that and felt the website advertised incorrectly and that language has since been taken down.
Manager Response
We are happy that you enjoyed the Crystal Creek Chalet for your family gathering and we apologize about the misinformation regarding the trout pond, which is no longer stocked with trout. The homeowner discontinued stocking the pond this year because there are some fresh water flow issues that would not support the trout to live. This was a new development just before your visit. We never meant to mislead you or other visitors which is why the information was changed on the website.

02/2017 ~ Website

Great Getaway

Jennifer R.
Perfect for families, close to the mountain. Beautiful living room with big windows and great views. Cool hiking trail on the back of the property. Not a lot of kitchen supplies - no salt, coffee maker didn't work.
Manager Response
We love the setting and location of the Crystal Creek Chalet, too. The coffee maker is working now.

02/2017 ~ Website

Grade A!

William L.
My family and I had a fantastic time! House accommodated all well and had a massive common area where everyone could hang out. bed rooms were all small, so plan on that, but everything was great.
Manager Response
We are happy to hear that you had such a nice time at the Crystal Creek Chalet. We love the massive vaulted great room with the fireplace and the dining room with the Salmon River views and second fireplace are perfect for hanging out, too.

01/2017 ~ Website

Cozy Private Cabin!

Erica D.
The Crystal Creek Chalet was such a wonderful retreat! Check in was a breeze with coded entry - a surprising feature for an older cabin. I was so pleased I didn't have to keep track of a key all weekend. Our dogs were welcome and we had a blast exploring the 25 acres of private property. The cabin was clean and well stocked. We were less than 20 minutes from Ski Bowl, and had nearby amenities in the town of Welches, so the location was perfect. The management staff were friendly and helpful with our questions. Very positive experience with Mt. Hood Vacation Rentals and Crystal Creek Chalet! We will be back!
Manager Response
We are very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the Crystal Creek Chalet. It is our goal to deliver exceptional customer service and we are very pleased that we hit the mark.

12/2016 ~ Website


Sherice A.
I want to thank everyone at the Mt.Hood Vacation Rentals for making my birthday the best birthday I've ever had!! Snowboarding then coming to sit by the fire was a great ending of a day! Thank you all again!!
Manager Response
Happy Birthday! We love hearing when our guests have a fantastic vacation and celebration at a Mt Hood Vacation Rental. See you again soon!

10/2016 ~ Website

Crystal Creek Getaway

Donna S.
Our getaway to the Crystal Creek Chalet is an annual trip a group of us take every Fall. We have enjoyed this rental home as it is tucked back on a ridge overlooking the Salmon Creek so the view are spectacular and the setting is very peaceful. The house is awesome with it open ceiling and cozy wood fireplace. The house is well stocked and comfortable and has several ponds and trails which makes for great afternoon walks.
Manager Response
Thank you for your repeat business during your annual visits to Mt Hood; we appreciate your vote of confidence with Mt Hood Vacation Rentals. We look forward to seeing you next year.

09/2016 ~ Website

Sept 2016 Wedding

Devra G.
It was spectacular, the accommodations were absoltuely beautiful, clean and the staff was friendly, kind and understanding. We were there for our sons wedding and it was perfect. Highly recommend and we will return in the future.
Manager Response
Congratulations on your son's wedding. We are sure it was a wonderful time for everyone. We look forward to your next visit when you can enjoy Mt Hood and the Crystal Creek Chalet agains.

12/2015 ~ Website

crystal creek chalet review for 12/23/15-12/28/15

Judy B.
the house has a breathtaking view and is nice and secluded. overall the house is very nice. When we arrived there were mice in the house running around, rodent odor in the kitchen, dirty linen on beds,broken bathroom door and housekeeping was very poorly done.We lived with this for 2 days until the management company opened again.They did respond that day.
Manager Response
We apologize that you had issues with mice; that is unusual this time of year and we are addressing it. The hardware on the pocket door was faulty and it has been replaced. it is our standard to have clean linens on the beds, so that should not have happened. We look forward to an opportunity at a future visit to show you we can do better.

12/2015 ~ Website

Bachelor Party Retreat

Tyler S.
I booked this cabin for my friend's bachelor party. It was the perfect size and perfectly located. The view of the river is amazing, especially during the sunrise. The provide plenty of firewood for two nights. We even had both fireplaces going one of the nights. The only negative I can think of is that there was a fallen tree blocking half of the driveway. It has been cut up to allow cars to pass, but it was definitely a tight squeeze. I definitely recommend this cabin for any mountain retreat!
Manager Response
Congratulations to your friend and his upcoming marriage! The Crystal Creek Chalet is perfect for a large gathering of friends. The tree had just fallen before your visit; it has been completely removed now.

11/2015 ~ Website

Beautiful getaway for any reason in any season

Jaimee B.
A chalet located by rivers and meadows, with ponds and resevoirs, the outdoor activities are amazing. Inside, ample rooms, fireplaces, and an indoor hot tub make you never want to check out.
Manager Response
The location and secluded setting at Crystal Creek Chalet really does make this cabin your vacation destination. So glad this was a great vacation for you.

10/2015 ~ Website

Mom's Getaway

Great space. Great view. Lots of room for a large group. Beautiful property. Like staying in a ski lodge.
Manager Response
We agree that the open floorplan with burnished wood walls at Crystal Creek Chalet does feel like a ski lodge. We are happy that you enjoyed your visit here.

10/2015 ~ Website

Another great work retreat at Crystal Creek Chalet

Tennison G.
This is the second time a corporate group of 7 adults stayed at the Crystal Creek Chalet, and it was great again! The house is very spacious, yet cozy at the same time. The sound of the beautiful river below is very soothing, and the setting is extremely private and quiet. We are able to get a ton of work done at the very large dining table, but can also work comfortably while sitting in the abundant living room furniture. The kitchen has everything we need, and the grill and deck are wonderful. It's less than an hour from Portland, and there are many convenient bars, restaurants, groceries, and other services close by. Mt. Hood Vacation rentals does a great job with easy reservations, check-in, and check-out processes, and the house is always exceptionally clean. I'd recommend it for any family or company retreat.
Manager Response
Wow, thank you for your repeat business. The Crystal Creek Chalet is one of our most unique and special vacation rentals because it has the rustic character of a mountain cabin with all the modern amenities you want in a stunning, secluded setting. And the views are exceptional from the deck. We look forward to your next visit.

08/2015 ~ Website

Recommend it.

A beautiful location. The bathrooms were in great condition with plenty of room. Lots and lots of towels! Tons of room to spread out. Kitchen had all the utensils you could need. The stairs to the lower level are quite steep. Easy bush-whacking access to the river from a trail located down by the entrance of the property. Worth the trouble. Close to town. The property also has some of the largest cedar trees I've ever see. Wish they had a few more pieces of outdoor furniture. Its an awesome place!
Manager Response
We love the classic rustic quality of the Crystal Creek Chalet combined with the meadows, ponds, tall trees and Salmon River views. Glad you had such a great time here.

05/2015 ~ Website

weekend with thr girls

The hose was very clean and everything worked. This is our favorite house. We had some issues in the past with the house and they have all been addressed.

08/2014 ~ Website

Wonderful spot

Lynda M.
Our family of five adults and one infant enjoyed the house enormously.

07/2014 ~ Website

Crystal Creek

warren s.
We stayed 4 nights at the Crystal Creek Chalet in early July for the purpose of hosting a few out of state guests at our daughters wedding. There was plenty of room for everyone and overall the home is rustic but very comfortable. aside from a couple of items that need repair the home was great. The indoor hot tub is weird and I would create another bedroom in its place and install a proper hot tub outside. Any shortcomings of the home are far out-weighed by the setting. the property is awesome! great views of the river , the ponds, the walking trails, all outstanding! Feeding the fish was fun, seeing deer every am wandering through the property , just great. Super private and secluded, yet only a mile or so from the golf course where our daughter got married. All in all I would recommend this home, especially if you enjoy great views of the surrounding forested hills, the river and great privacy.If this were my personal vacation home I probably would not change a thing. If I were renting it as a vacation home I would repair a few things and modernize it a bit. It would be unbeatable!

07/2014 ~ Website

Perfect Setting for our Corporate Retreat!

Tennison G.
After our original plans changed, I needed to find a home in a beautiful setting, close to Portland, that would sleep 7 adults who don't normally sleep together. 🙂 The Crystal Creek Chalet was perfect! There were plenty of bedrooms, and having three full bathrooms is, not only rare, but very convenient. The enormous dining room was terrific for our daily strategy meetings. We ate every meal on the deck, with the gorgeous river below, and relaxed in the cozy, but spacious, living room in the evenings. The kitchen was very well equipped, with plenty of serving pieces, gadgets, and appliances, as well as BBQ tools to use with the awesome gas grill! Everything was spotlessly clean, and there were plenty of wonderful fluffy towels in all the bathrooms. In addition to the house being terrific, the setting was amazing! You can only see two roof peaks very far away, and otherwise, no other people or houses at all. You just see hills, trees, and river. Very peaceful, yet with the convenience of Welches stores just down the street. We will definitely book this house again for corporate retreats (only 45 minutes from Portland!), and several of us are considering it for family events. Wifi worked perfectly, and the staff at Mt. Hood Vacation Rentals was friendly, cheerful, and very helpful.

03/2014 ~ Website

Great piece of property and beautiful views

Dennis A.
The management company was top notch and the property was clean and welcoming to us and our family from out of town. Easily slept both families with the separate quarters too.

01/2014 ~ Website

Paradise on Earth

Steve M.
I've rented several vacation rental's over the years but our stay at Crystal Creek Chalet was by far the most wonderful experience ever. We truly loved the river, the view and the 200 acres of secluded property. We will most definitely return.

01/2014 ~ Website

Crystal creek chalet

Poor housekeeping, uncomfortable beds, jacuzzie had problems filling up hot water.

01/2014 ~ Website

Great Location!

Paolo C.
We had a great stay in this cabin. It had an excellent location however the cabin was overall pretty OUTDATED. The fixtures are pretty old and it needs some more lighting if not just brighter lights in the kitchen. I have mixed feelings about the indoor hot tub probably because that was pretty outdated too and it didn't really give that "hot tub" feeling when I was inside of it. The view from the dining room is AMAZING and the fact that it had two indoor fireplaces was definitely a plus! There was so much space in the living that my family and friends were able to just sprawl out while we were playing our board games. This is my second time renting from "MHVR" and they are definitely top notch! We had an issue with one of the bathtubs not draining properly due to old age and they were quick to respond and were willing to get someone out to where we were as soon as possible but we didn't need them to since we weren't using that bathtub. It was just good to know that they were there and ready to offer assistance when needed. I would recommend this property to friends if it's their first time but until the cabin gets updated I probably won't be staying there again myself.

12/2013 ~ Website

Gorgeous River View

Bill R.
This vacation rental is in a convenient location, with hiking trails on the property and a beautiful river view. The two fireplaces made for cozy evenings. We had an excellent time!

10/2013 ~ Website

Awesome Place to Stay!

Barbara M.
This is the third year our group has stayed at Crystal Creek and plan to stay again next year. What a wonderful house and location!! The scenery is incredible and the house perfect for our large group. The staff members at Mt. Hood Rentals are always helpful and very friendly! Overall a great experience.

10/2013 ~ Website

sweet spot

Samuel W.
The location of this house is amazing, and it's on 200 private acres. There is plenty of hiking and fishing right from the property. Would be nice if the hot tub was outside with a view (check the pics), and you should make more firewood available.

08/2013 ~ Website

August visit

Jeffery G.
We stayed for a week in August while our son was going to Windells Skateboarding Camp in Welches. While he was at camp all day we hiked to different waterfalls and visited Hood River one day for the windsurfing and kite boarding. The house was in a great location for day trips around the area. The house itself was very comfortable although a bit of overkill for just three of us. Having the whole estate to ourselves was great. Very private. We had an isuue with the garbage disposal in the kitchen sink at first but it was taken care of right away. Very professional. We enjoyed our stay very much.

08/2013 ~ Website

Great family vacation!!

Cammy C.
We had a great time and I loved the peace and quiet.

07/2013 ~ Website

4th of July Vacation

When we arrived 2 of the smoke dectectors were peeping as they had a low battery and my dogs are very afraid of that sound so we replaced the batteries immediately. The sink in the kitchen had a leak and when we pulled everything out from under the sink it was very dirct and there was mold on the covering laid down in there. Scary to say the least. Most if not all of the pans we took our for cooking were dirty and we had to wash before use. Many light balbs out in the downstairs bathroom and the seat cushion on the lounger by the hot tub is terribly torn. I discovered this by trying to turn it on it's right side as the zippers on the back were poking me, only to find it torn on the right side. It was also a little dusty but over all we loved the house and would be more than happy to come back for another visit. The location is THE best!
Manager Response
We are sorry to hear that the kitchen was not cleaned to our standards for your visit. We have completely deep cleaned the kitchen and removed some of the older pots and pans. We will be replacing the cushion on the downstairs chair as well. We look forward to seeing you again and the opportunity for a great experience.

05/2013 ~ Website

Would stay here again, but only if it was thoroughly cleaned

Christine B.
The grounds gorgeous. The meadow, ponds, the woods, the views from the deck are perfect. We would come back for the property surrounding the house alone. Also, the property mgmt women are fantastic! We will def. book through this agency again. However, the kitchen was an absolute wreck. It was as if a really ****** thrift store threw up in there. Total disorganization and extremely poor quality pots, pans, etc. There were mouse feces in the pots and pans, too. So we had to wash everything before we used them. The upstairs bedrooms may be great for kids, but both adults can't sit up in bed without hitting your head on the slanted ceilings. We would recommend this property, but with reservations and full disclosure.

03/2013 ~ Website

just right

One of the best....the only thing that could have been better would be a bigger hot tub but for just 2 people its great.

02/2013 ~ Website

Mt. Hood Vacation

My friends and I truly enjoyed the property. It was fun exploring the huge private property with the ponds and the outdoor scenery it provided. We would definitely rent the Crystal Creek Chalet again.

02/2013 ~ Website

Unbelievable location!

The location was perfect for our needs. The ponds beautiful and the view of the salmon river below was perfect.

12/2012 ~ Website

A secluded romantic get-a-way

Lorena A.
Great cabin to rent. Only one small issue that was resolved very quickly. Breathtaking view of the river and mountains and excellent hiking trails. Will definitely stay again!

12/2012 ~ Website

Gorgeous Property, Dated Home

As we drove into the property we were taken aback by the beautiful scenery. There is no doubt that this is a gorgeous property. We were disappointed with the rental home itself though. There were no bedrooms on the main floor. The two rooms upstairs had majorly pitched ceilings making the rooms feel much smaller & less usable than they actually were. To access the downstairs rooms you had to take an extremely steep stairwell. One of the rooms was a decent size with 2 full beds. The other downstairs bedroom had a queen bed but no room for anything else. We had to take out two pieces of furniture in order to fit our luggage in the room. In addition the kitchen is extremely dated and has an odd layout - with the main floor bathroom between the stove and fridge. It was rather gross, and a pain when someone needed to use the restroom while we were cooking. There was only one trash can at the house. We were told the other was at the end of the driveway. Normally not an issue but this driveway is about 1/4 mi. long. We were not going to drag it up the driveway in the rain or put the can into one of our cars. It would have been nice if both cans were in their proper place. Lastly an indoor jacuzzi is advertised but it was empty (better for child safety) and no way to fill it. Granted we did not call the rental office to inquire but it seemed like this would have been better thought out. Aside from all that here are the positive aspects of the rental property: - The main living space was huge. We cooked dinner for 15 relatives one night and it was very comfortable. - The view out the dining room window is spectacular. You have a view of the Salmon River and the snow-capped mountains. Absolutely breath-taking. - The trout pond is fun for kids and adults alike. It was a treat to feed them. - There is a fire trail on the property. This makes for a nice leisurely walk.

11/2012 ~ Website

Wonderful Anniversary Weekend

Brandon C.
We couldn't have chosen a better place to celebrate our anniversary. Loved the rustic feel. Pictured the kids and grandkids playing in the feild and around the pond. The only drawbacks were, the king bed was very uncomfortable and there could have been more towels/washclothes available. Other than that, awesome! I do have to recommend the Skyway restaurant, great food and atmosphere.

10/2012 ~ Website

Wonderful location. Recommended map of property to management co.

Karen C.
We had 8 guests and the large rooms were very accomodating. Dining room/game room looks over the river and has a great fireplace. Additional woodstove in living room which had lots of seating. Great view deck with covered BBQ. Only drawback to property is that upstairs bedrooms small with slanted ceilings and stairs to basement very steep. Very private and scenic location. Would definitely go back!

09/2012 ~ Website

Beautiful and Relaxing

Scott T.
Primo location. Beautiful property and private.

09/2012 ~ Website

Amazing Location

This location is absolutely amazing. Honestly, I can't believe anyone who owns this property would not live here all the , I thank whoever the owner is for renting it out to us "peasants". I was actually able to get a good night's sleep because of the silence of this remote location. The setting is gorgeous and I spent most of the time outside, exploring the grounds. Simply inspiring and beautiful! The only thing I would change would be the interior decorating...a job I would love to embark on, as the house has so much potential. It really deserves a gorgeous overhaul to go with the perfect setting.

09/2012 ~ Website

Wonderland has a headquarters.....

Ben B.
Crystal Creek has a breathtaking view over the Sandy River, absolutely amazing property, it being next to a pond full of domesticated trout (no fishing but they are obviously trained to eat food from people, as they swim right up to the edge of the water where you stand), a private meadow ringed with tall evergreens that glows bright blue under a full moon, and an eastward facing backporch for watching some of the best sunrises I have had the pleasure of being awake to see. The kitchen is a little outdated, but I think any house in the mountains that isn't this way is sorely out of place. The indoor hottub was so nice after dinner, and the fireplaces, supplied with freshly cut firewood and kindling, make for all the entertainment I needed. Though, the digital cable and WiFi were welcome as well! I highly recommend this property!

09/2012 ~ Website

Beautiful House

David M.
I had one of the best birthday's ever at CCC. The property was beautiful, clean and in a great location. Of note: exploring the place was a blast. Lots of trails and wonderful places to get lost. Also, he photo of the back deck is a little misleading. The indoor jacuzzi is nice and just right for two. There is no outdoor fireplace, but we were just fine without it. Also, be sure to bring along a RCA to I-Pod adapter or I-Pod radio, if you have one, or some of your favorite CD's, as the stereo is an older one and does not get very good radio reception. In addition, make sure you check your bank account after you have left, for any incidental charges, so you can get an explanation for what they were. And make sure you check all the specifics before you sign anything!! It was a great place and a a good time. I will definitely be back!!

08/2012 ~ Website

Great location but outdated interiors

Chanchal M.
The location is unbeatable and unparalleled for a vacation home. The home is great, spacious and has character. However the kitchen and bathroom need some upgrade... the appliances and furnishing are too way old and show age (wear and tear, spots, stains).

07/2012 ~ Website

Crystal Creek Chalet

Chris R.
Great time, we loved the place and the location! Rendezvous restaurant across Hwy 26 is a great place to eat!! Thanks, Chris R.

06/2012 ~ Website

Great place to stay!!

Shirlee E.
Beautiful view of the river. Every morning a doe with two fawns would walk through the yard heading to the river. The kitchen was the best stocked with pots and pans and dishes I have ever rented.

02/2012 ~ Website

we loved the cabin

Dennis L.
The only negative thing we had was the upstairs shower not working. We were very happy with the quick response to fix shower. The TV could be updated so we could use play station but not a big deal. My friends from Florida loved the cabin and would love to stay there again. Thank-you.

02/2012 ~ Website

So much potential

The Wifi Internet did not work, the downstairs toilet did not flush, the entire downstairs was freezing (despite heat on full blast). When we entered, an antique woodstove's door was buster/hanging's a hint: If the door is falling off in the middle of the kitchen, the antique is not adding value to the experience. Also there was no cover for the indoor Hot Tub, and it was so dirty we did not even attempt it. This home needs some maintenance and it could be great. Call me if you want to sell a share and I would pay for the repairs and refurbish myself. The location was truly specatacular.

01/2012 ~ Website

Mt Hood Rentals was very accommodating!

Aron W.
The river view in winter with a blanket of snow over all the trees was simply stunning! We had a great time at Crystal Creek Chalet and will certainly consider it in the future. However, be aware of the tricky oven timer that is the magical key to making the oven work. Also, bring a little extra toilet paper. The amount provided wasn't enough for the # of people.

01/2012 ~ Website

Wish we could have stayed longer

The setting is wonderful, private and peaceful.The house is comfortable, common rooks are spacious, and it is not fancy.

11/2011 ~ Website

A Great Time

Stacy G.
My family and I have stayed at a few cabins in the area. This by far has been the best. The only thing that would maybe hold us back from staying again, would be the price. Thanks again.

11/2011 ~ Website

Crystal Creek Chalet

Linda H.
The view was great. We like the indoor hot tub. The kids and us enjoyed exploring the trails. We wondered if fishing in the pond is allowed.

11/2011 ~ Website

Great Weekend of Wine and Friends

LaVonne H.
We had a very wonderful time and loved the house. To make it even better, it snowed and the atmosphere was great. Plan to go back again.

11/2011 ~ Website

Crystal Creek Chalet Review

Lori T.
I thought that the rental process was somewhat tedious and 2 night minimum stay kept poping up eventhough I had selected 2 days. I think that the pictures do not do the property justice whatso ever. I went expecting something shacky but got a marvolous house. There were a few areas that were not checked by housekeeping such as a cheetos bag that was spilling on the floor. The staff was very helpful and printed out directions to things we wanted to do for us. Overall I was impressed.

10/2011 ~ Website

What a Place!

This house was perfect for our group of 6. The living room and great room are huge and comfortable and the view is breath taking. The kitchen is not big but very functional and well stocked with dishes/pans/cooking utensils. The stairs to the downstairs level are a bit steep, but there is an entrance at that level, as well. Great place to take a walk through the gorgeous scenery. We will be back next year.

April 2024
  01 02 03 04 05 06
07 08 09 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        
May 2024
      01 02 03 04
05 06 07 08 09 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
June 2024
02 03 04 05 06 07 08
09 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
July 2024
  01 02 03 04 05 06
07 08 09 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31      
August 2024
        01 02 03
04 05 06 07 08 09 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
September 2024
01 02 03 04 05 06 07
08 09 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30          
October 2024
    01 02 03 04 05
06 07 08 09 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    
November 2024
          01 02
03 04 05 06 07 08 09
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
December 2024
01 02 03 04 05 06 07
08 09 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        
January 2025
      01 02 03 04
05 06 07 08 09 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
February 2025
02 03 04 05 06 07 08
09 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28  
March 2025
02 03 04 05 06 07 08
09 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31          
April 2025
    01 02 03 04 05
06 07 08 09 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30      
Check-In Only
Check-Out Only

Search Availability

Detailed Quote
Add to Favorites