Bear Den Log Cabin

2 Bedrooms 2 Bathrooms Sleeps 6 Welches Dog Friendly

If you are looking for a classic log cabin experience when you visit Mt Hood, the Bear Den Log Cabin is where you will want to stay. This rough-hewn log cabin is tucked away in the woods alongside Billy Creek. You can sit back on the creekside deck and relax to the sounds of the babbling brook flowing by and the soft breezes blowing through the trees. You will be far enough off the main road to enjoy peace and quiet, yet close enough to access Mt Hood recreation and activities in minutes.

Grill dinner on the Weber gas BBQ and eat out al fresco or gather around the dining table inside while enjoying a roaring fire in the rock fireplace in the vaulted great room.

This rustic log cabin is ideal for a couple on a romantic retreat or a small family vacation with two bedrooms (1 king, 1 queen) and the sofa bed in the loft plus two full bathrooms.

•On Billy Creek in Welches
•Open Great Room
•Quiet Dead-end Road
•Wood-burning Woodstove in River Rock Fireplace
•Starter Supply of Firewood Provided
•Fully-Equipped Kitchen
•1 King Bed in the Primary Suite
•1 Queen Bed in Bedroom Downstairs
•1 Queen Sofa Bed in Loft
•2 Full Bathrooms
•Jetted Whirlpool Tub in Master Bathroom
•Deck with Propane BBQ and Deck Furniture
•Cable TV
•Internet Speed: Medium - 21-100 Mbps
•Land Line Phone w / Free Long Distance (limited cell service)
•Washer / Dryer
•Your Dogs are Welcome!
•No Smoking
•1866 Square Feet
•Property Elevation: 1390 Feet
•Note: Steep driveway and snow on the road requires traction devices (chains or snow tires) and 4WD for access during the winter
•Parking: Max 2 Vehicles, No Street Parking
•Sleeps 6
•No Parties, Weddings or Events, Please.

*Each home is individually owned. Amenities and furnishings are subject to change at any time. For questions on this, please contact our office.

Nearby Attractions

  • Restaurants
  • Forests
  • Museums
  • Waterfalls
  • Lakes/Rivers


  • Carbon Monoxide Detector
  • Smoke Detectors
  • Fire Extinguisher


  • Toaster
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Kitchen
  • Cookware


  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens
  • Towels
  • Hangers
  • Parking
  • Jetted tub
  • Fireplace
  • Dryer
  • Wireless Internet
  • Iron
  • Living Room
  • Washer
  • Walk-In Shower
  • Telephone
  • Dining Area
  • Internet

Sport Activities

  • Cross Country Skiing
  • Fishing
  • Hiking
  • Kayaking
  • Skiing
  • Mountain Climbing
  • Mountaineering
  • Rock Climbing
  • Whitewater Rafting
  • Cycling
  • Sledding

Local Services

  • Laundromat
  • Groceries
  • Medical Services

Leisure Activities

  • Bird Watching
  • Eco Tourism
  • Scenic Drives
  • Shopping
  • Sight Seeing
  • Wildlife Viewing

Location Type

  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Ski Resort Nearby
  • River View
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
  • Water View

Discount Allowed

  • Discount: Yes


  • Mountain
  • Log Cabin
  • Romantic Retreat


  • Private Entrance


  • Deck/Patio
  • Grill/BBQ


  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable
  • TV
  • Board Games
04/13/2023 ~ Guest Survey
Quality of Home (Appearance, Amenities & Comfort)
Customer Service
Condition of Home (Maintenance, Wear and Tear & Usability)
Have been staying at bear den log cabin over 14 years of vacations. Love it! Only had one year w delayed access due to snow and heat/electric outage due to storm. But this year was great.



Mathurin F.

03/22/2023 ~ Guest Survey
Quality of Home (Appearance, Amenities & Comfort)
Customer Service
Condition of Home (Maintenance, Wear and Tear & Usability)
Great location, twenty minutes to Timberline, thirty minutes to Meadows, awesome house. Hope to back for more ski trips, Thank you from Texas.


Bears' Den

Susan R.
This is the quintessential cabin in the woods. We'll be back despite some defered maintenance issues.

01/16/2023 ~ Guest Survey
Quality of Home (Appearance, Amenities & Comfort)
Customer Service
Condition of Home (Maintenance, Wear and Tear & Usability)
We had a great experience. Only thing missing were some amenities like shampoo and laundry detergent.

08/18/2022 ~ Guest Survey
Quality of Home (Appearance, Amenities & Comfort)
Customer Service
Condition of Home (Maintenance, Wear and Tear & Usability)
Very good customer service. Some of the amenities in the home could be updated. Some things didn’t work (jacuzzi) and some things broke with normal use (rocking chair) Lovely location and good price


Great spot to stay in Welches!

Liz D.
Enjoyed our stay while we came up to have fun on the mountain. The house is tucked away with a serene view of the creek and feels in the forest, event though you are minutes from town in a neighborhood.

05/19/2022 ~ Guest Survey
Quality of Home (Appearance, Amenities & Comfort)
Customer Service
Condition of Home (Maintenance, Wear and Tear & Usability)
The stove in the kitchen is poor at best. It has been that way for years. Perhaps this is why we can usually schedule this amazingly beautiful location whenever we like. If the kitchen were brought up to parr, we would likely never get back in or the cost would become prohibitive! The rental service and staff are outstanding from top to bottom. There have been some important structural and maintenance improvements over the last several years. Thank You! The location is unbeatable if you are seeking privacy and seclusion, and this amazing log structure is as awesome as any mountain lodge ... just more homey.

03/2022 ~ Website

Beautiful and Spacious Cabin, Great Views!

Stephanie B.
What a wonderful vacation at Bear Den Log Cabin with Mt. Hood Vacation Rentals. We had such a great girls' trip! The cabin is very spacious, comfortable, and cozy. The back deck is very large and looks over a beautiful creek and forest. It was so relaxing! We can't wait to come back!

02/2022 ~ Website

Perfect Getaway

Sue L.
The house was perfect. It was just perfectly located far enough away but close enough to drive up to the mountain. Great walking right out the door. Loved the sound of the creek right outside the door and listed to it at night. The house was clean and had plenty of space. I would have liked an extra blanked to cuddle up on the couch but we survived, so if you like extra blankets ask for them in advance or bring your own. The beds were very comfortable and the kitchen well stocked.

01/2022 ~ Website

Bear Den Cabin

Excellent!!! We enjoyed a snowy stay that maximized our cabin stay. It was a relaxing get-away.

01/2022 ~ Website

Amazing Vacation Cabin

Leandra G.
Our family of four and aunt and uncle met up and enjoyed a 3 night/4 day getaway and have no complaints. This cabin was big enough without being too big. It had all of the kitchen supplies, plenty of towels and linens to last for our entire trip, cabin was clean and very well laid out. We left relaxed and very happy!

01/2022 ~ Website

Wonderful little cabin

The experience was great! Great location great scenery and very wonderful for a quiet getaway.

01/2022 ~ Website


Sharon R.
10 Stars! I booked this cabin for a quick getaway and had no idea how amazing it was going to be. Beautiful icicles and snow lined the cabin. It was just far enough away, but close enough to town to feel completely private. I did not see anyone else which I loved. The cabin was clean and absolutely beautiful. You could see and hear the water from the back balcony. You will need to bring your own coffee. They provide everything else. The wifi worked good too. Sometimes it would go out, due to the snow and cold temps, but we would wait a few min and it would come right back. You will need a 4wd vehicle if staying during the winter. We were unable to get out on day of check out and the vacation rental management staff was SO helpful. They were able to have someone come and plow so we could get out. I can't say enough about every single person I spoke with and dealt with during the entire booking process, including getting stuck and not being able to get out. 10/5 stars! I can't wait to come back and stay for longer.

12/2021 ~ Website

Best place to spend some quite time off!!

Muthukumar B.
Place is clean and calm. We enjoyed our stay. We will come back again in summer.

09/2021 ~ Website

Great experience.

Patrick D.
Great place,great choice,great location. Highly recommended. Stayed 3 nights and didn't want to leave on the last day. Will definitely be coming back forsure.

08/2021 ~ Website

Family Getaway

Amazing. Everything was beautifully maintained. Quiet, relaxing absolutely perfect.

07/2021 ~ Website

very nice stay!

nice home, spacious, private setting but still near shopping, activities. Loved the high end gas grill. Great porch, only a few mosquitos about. Mattresses were only ok, sofa bed really not recommended for any adults. Otherwise quite nice and would def stay again. Starter basket in kitchen very helpful.

06/2021 ~ Website

Bear Den - June 2021

Overall is was good--However I'd not feel right if I didn't point out a few negative items. Kitchen and kitchen appliances & hardware are old and outdated. Some don't work well. No cover over kitchen light made for harsh lighting. Stove area was not very well cleaned and having mouse droppings on the counter and under the sink points to an issue. For the $$ this place should be updated and a rodent plan enacted. Bed and comforters need to be replaced. Dated and kind of gross. While understanding it's a log cabin the rodent intrusion is signifagent. Visible mice (moving around like pets) and droppings make for an unpleasant experience. Furniture is old and dated. TV's are small for this day and age and for the $$ they should be bigger, etc to compete against other properties in the same price point. I did appreciate the location and privacy however cell phone coverage is dismal and should be clearly addressed in the cabin description. I hope you don't take this review negatively but as constructive feedback for the owner. I will recommend to other ski team family's looking for an alternative to Government Camp.

05/2021 ~ Website

Wonderful log cabin but order take out

Marcyi M.
rented the cabin for Mother's Day weekend. this was the first time my mother had been able to stay over night somewhere for 21 years. Her husband recently passed away after a long health battle. My sister and I planned all the meals to cook so that we could stay in the cabin and play games and scrapbook. However, friday night as we began to cook dinner it became very clear that the stovetop did not work very well. We were only able to get one burner to work. Even though the burner was on it didnt stay heated. We made due using the oven and microwave for as much as we could. Of course that didnt work for cooking eggs. We would love to make this a yearly trip. But only if the stove gets fixed.
Manager Response
We are so sorry to hear that the burners were not working for your Mother's Day breakfast. We have looked at the range and all of the burners are now working. We would have been happy to come by and take care of it for you during your stay. Reach out to us the next time you are ready to book a vacation rental and we will make sure we direct to a newer cabin with newer appliances.

02/2021 ~ Website

Wonderful Weekend!

Matthew W.
This place was really perfect! 5/5 It was exactly what we were looking for - the log cabin experience. The team at MHVR was very communicative and helpful. Everything was ready for us, and the place was immaculately clean! Not a speck of dust anywhere. I was expecting some remnants from past guests or their dogs, but there was none! We were also pleasantly surprised by the babbling creek that runs directly behind the cabin off the back deck. It would have been so peaceful if the weather allowed. A couple things to note, that did not take much away from the experience. We arrived at night, and this place is DARK. The house was lit up just fine (all the lights were on) but the yard and driveway were almost pitch black. It was somewhat tricky to see the driveway, and unloading the car was a challenge. Just something to be aware of - bring a flashlight. Also, directly in front of the front steps is a big puddle of mud, be careful.

01/2021 ~ Website

Winter Getawat

Justin L.
Nice cabin. Not as remote as we had hoped but very nice place. Beds were very uncomfortable and kitchen was not as well stocked with basics as other places we have had stayed recently.

01/2021 ~ Website

nice cabin

It's a very nice place. The bear and flag aren't so overwhelming as in the picture. Could use some gravel near front entrance porch - getting muddy. Everything went smooth.

01/2021 ~ Website

Cozy, clean and well-stocked

Sean M.
We had a wonderful, quiet retreat. Thank you!

12/2020 ~ Website

Would stay here again

Byron B.
This is a cozy cabin in a great location. The kids loved exploring the surrounding woods and the creek in the backyard.

10/2020 ~ Website

dream cabin was real

Luis T.
I've always wanted to stay at a cabin like this, it was everything I envisioned and more. The place was clean, the kitchen was well stocked, the view was absolutely breathtaking. If you're ever thinking of renting a cabin in the woods, this is the place to rent.

10/2020 ~ Website

Fall weekend getaway

Jennifer C.
Property is well maintained, very comfortable and cozy. It was a no frills getaway. We stayed in, admired the log cabin construction, kept the fire going and had a very nice stay. We were surprised to find the cabin was actually part of a larger neighborhood, and there were other houses within view, yet the property felt secluded enough for our getaway. There was not as much property to explore as we had hoped, but it was a short drive up the mountain to find some trails so no big loss there. We had initially planned this as a ski retreat earlier this year, but COVID changed that to a fall getaway instead and I am honestly glad we visited in the time of year we did. It was a bit too chilly to fully enjoy the deck but I can imagine it would be a lovely summer getaway and I dream of going back, sitting on the deck and listening to the creek babble all day long.

10/2020 ~ Website

Beautiful Quiet Family Getaway

Jenni L.
We had a wonderful long weekend at the Bear Dean Cabin and look forward to returning. Due to COVID-19, we were looking for somewhere that our family of four could get away from home while remaining relatively isolated. We enjoyed local takeout, played games, read and hiked on some relatively low-traffic trails, including at Wildwood nearby. (The kids also played on their laptops and found the internet service quite acceptable.) The fall color was gorgeous, and the house was well furnished and comfortable. My only tips would be to bring a few extra blankets, as the house can be a bit drafty (like all log cabins) and to be cautious with the shower, since the water heater seems to be set very high and the temperature can change unexpectedly. We will certainly be back.

10/2020 ~ Website

Perfect Place to Reconnect With Grandson

Due to COVID, hadn’t seen our 16 yr old grandson since early March. He’s in Portland and we’re close to Tacoma. We wanted someplace quiet and private, yet close enough to PDX to easily pick him up and get him back home. Bear Den cabin was perfect logistically and in every other respect. The early October weather was warm and sunny. We sat on the back deck and played Scrabble on the patio table. Indoors, Monopoly. Our old dogs enjoyed sniffing about. Grandpa relaxed in the soaker tub. No planes, no freeway noise, just the creek babbling along. One night, tasty takeout from Zigzag Inn. Perfect weekend.

09/2020 ~ Website

Very relaxing

Came to Bear Den to relax and do nothing. Lovely cabin next to a babbling stream with a filtered view of the Salmon River through the trees. Enjoyed the forest quiet and the occasional creature that wandered through. Appreciated the proactiveness of the property management company, which gave us an opportunity to rebook when our original booked time was impacted by PGE's power shutdown for five days.

08/2020 ~ Website

Great Property

Dina G.
Always a great experience with Mt Hood Vacation Rentals. Home was clean and well equipped. Had a great time walking the neighborhood, hiking etc. The "Creek" is not really a creek, but still nice to hear it. Lots of mosquitos in summer so bring repelent. Sun doesn't shine on porch much in afternoon.
Manager Response
Glad you enjoyed your stay at the Bear Den Log Cabin. The creek is seasonal, so by August it can be a trickle, however in the spring it is running much more.

08/2020 ~ Website

Bear Den Log Cabin

Linda R.
It was beautiful and so relaxing.

07/2020 ~ Website

4th of July getaway

Katherine H.
The Bear Den cabin was exactly what we needed. In a quiet place, next to a small river/creek. Plenty of amenities and a very comfortable place to stay.

03/2020 ~ Website

Bear Den Log Cabin

Suzanne P.
We had a great time

02/2020 ~ Website

Absolutely beautiful, cozy mountain cabin retreat

This house is more of a log mansion, the ceilings extending up three stories in beautiful rustic artistry. It's in the middle of a mature forest with lots of footpaths down to the river, and a rushing creek off the porch. We loved this house and will stay here again.

02/2020 ~ Website

Wowzers cabin in a gorgeous setting best valentines weekend ever

Hope V.
First of all our valentines weekend plans were doomed we had reserved a place 3 months in advance and that was cancelled literally on Friday morning of the weekend. We were going into couples massages w that message and came out calling around up at mt hood w some dismay. Then we saw this cabin and took it - but wow when we got there we didn’t reLize someone’s cancellation was our major win. The cabin is totally secluded adorable and breathtaking with the stream and the forest and the lay out was just awesome we spent the weekend on the mountain cooking beautiful meals and enjoying it all by the fire. We especially enjoyed reading the guest book and the long history of love and connection that the home has hosted and you can feel it when you are there!! Best V day ever

11/2019 ~ Website

Bear Den, 6th time, 10 years later

Eileen G.
We really like Bear Den. We’ve stayed there, often for two weeks, in 2001, 2003, 2005, 2007, 2009, and 2019. The cabin is well-designed and well-maintained. The kitchen is well-stocked with pots, pans, and small appliances, Billy Creek cascading just off the deck is a delight. Here are the negatives: the driveway is and has always been awful! It is very bumpy and even dangerous at night. The range and the showers could use upgrades. But the overall experience is peaceful and comfortable.

07/2019 ~ Website

Bear Den Log Cabin

We had a wonderful time staying in the cabin in the woods on the stream. Great hikes, interesting restaurants, peaceful, quiet place.
Manager Response
We love hearing that you had a peaceful and quiet vacation at the Bear Den Log Cabin. We look forward to your next visit.

03/2019 ~ Website

Great Weekend Stay

Keith R.
Great stay Very quite and relaxing, only sound was that of the river
Manager Response
We love knowing you had a relaxing and quiet weekend at the Bear Den Log Cabin.

02/2019 ~ Website

Best ever

Jim B.
This place was divine, very private and had everything you could want. The photo you see is what you get, no touch ups. Wish the TV was more than a monitor.
Manager Response
Wow, so happy to know the Bear Den Log Cabin offered everything you needed for your vacation.

01/2019 ~ Website

Cozy little get away in the woods!

Lisa S.
This cabin was perfect! Clean, well equipped and close to everything. We really enjoyed ourselves. The check-in process was great. They were friendly and professional. I knew immediately that we were in for a great time.
Manager Response
Thank you for the wonderful review; it is our goal to be friendly and professional and to make your vacation easy. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation at the Bear Den Log Cabin.

08/2018 ~ Website

Bear Den Log Cabin

Laurel D.
We loved our stay at this picturesque cabin. A great floor plan, outside deck &the forest setting was beautiful and peaceful. We enjoyed spending time on the Salmon River Trail. It’s also great to have such convenient access to the stores and restaurants in Welches. Thank you for sharing. We will be back!
Manager Response
Glad you enjoyed your visit to the Bear Den Log Cabin. We look forward to your next visit.

07/2018 ~ Website

Fantastic cabin

Fantastic cabin experience

05/2018 ~ Website

Bear Den Log Cabin May Stay

Rick K.
Beautiful house in a beautiful and convenient setting. We had an issue with the alarm system which the management company took care of immediately.

05/2018 ~ Website

Idyllic cabin in the woods

We wanted a relaxing vacation in the wilderness and this spot was perfect. Tucked away by the Salmonella River, we could unwind from the city and easily get to the hiking trails nearby. We would definitely stay again.
Manager Response
We love knowing that you were able to get a relaxing vacation away from the business of day-to-day life. FYI, the cabin is on Billy Creek with a short trail to the Salmon River.

12/2017 ~ Website

A quiet getaway

Yessenia A.
The Bear Den Cabin was perfect. My family is from Florida and they came down for the holidays. They fell in love with the cabin and all the trees. It was very cozy and clean. I will definitely be renting the cabin again in the future.
Manager Response
The Bear Den Log Cabin is the perfect place to show your Florida friends a true mountain experience. So glad they fell in love with Mt Hood. We are excited for your next visit.

10/2017 ~ Website

Beautiful Cabin, Beautiful Location!

Cheri S.
This is the 4th cabin we've rented from this company & each experience is unique & wonderful. When I walked into this cabin I was immediately charmed. The floor plan is fun & you just get a cozy feel. The back deck is beautiful & the sound of the rushing creek below made me feel a hundred miles away. The Salmon river is visible thru the very tall & mature pine trees & accessible with a short fun hike. It rained while we were there but that was beautiful too because they have skylights where you can watch the rain come down & the cabin is filled with windows. It's also close to Govt Camp & the lakes so day trips up the mtn were easy. Then back home to a fully stocked kitchen where I encountered my only complaint. PLEASE get a new stove! You have to tease 3 of the burners to work right & the 4th just doesn't work at all. I've seen other complaints about it so it's time to replace. Other than that the place is great. The water is piping hot and the bed is comfortable. I would recommend this cabin to others without hesitation & May return to it myself after exploring more homes from this company.
Manager Response
Thank you for your loyal, repeat business. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the charming nature of the Bear Den Log Cabin. We will pass along your comments about the stove to the homeowner We hope you got to enjoy the fall colors which are really amazing this year.

10/2017 ~ Website

Bear Den

Tom M.
The Bear Den is one of our favorites for our 3-4 trips to Sandy each year. Always cozy and comfortable...and well maintained. Our congratulations to Mt Hood Vacation Rentals for being on top of all the details.
Manager Response
Thank you for your repeated business. See you next time.

08/2017 ~ Website

Great stay

Erinn L.
Great stay, great home, 100% recommended!!! Mount hood vacation rental were very kind and helpful on every level.
Manager Response
so glad you enjoyed your vacation at the Bear Den Log Cabin.

07/2017 ~ Website

Great stay for our anniverary

We stayed at this cabin during our honeymoon and decided to come back for our 10 year anniversary. It was just as nice this time! We love this place!
Manager Response
Congratulations and Happy Anniversary! Thank you for thinking of us and the Bear Den Log Cabin for your celebration.

05/2017 ~ Website

Bear Den Log Cabin - Amazing Retreat

Diana P.
This retreat is simply amazing. The log home is charming, cozy, roomy, and rustic. Fantastic creek view from the deck surrounded by forest. My dachshunds had a great time too!! Looking forward to another stay in this serene property.
Manager Response
Our dogs love the Bear Den Log Cabin and the forest and creek surrounding this special place, too. We are so glad you had a great time.

03/2017 ~ Website

Winderful place to stay

John H.
Great service, excellent cabin in a good location! Highly reccomend, will rent bear den again and mt hood vacation rentals was awesme!
Manager Response
It is our goal to insure you have an awesome vacation, so we are very happy to know that your visit to the Bear Den Log Cabin was such a great time for you. We look forward to seeing you again.

02/2017 ~ Website

Bear Den Snowy Weekend

Kristian K.
Cabin was great. Clean, secluded, and log cabin character. Only complaints are that the cable and stereo did not work, and the heat upstairs was sketchy. Figured out tha the only heating vent was behind the door to the master bedroom. Once the door was not blocking the vent, heat was good. More notes around the house would be helpful as to how things work would be good. Like the heatupstairs, the fireplace, and the stereo. Overall the experience was great and would stay again.
Manager Response
The Bear Den Log Cabin is a favorite vacation rental for guests looking for a classic mountain vacation experience; we are glad this worked out well for you. The local cable company updated their systems; we apologize that the cable was not up and running for you. We have installed 2 new TVs and set up a new cable box, so you will get lots of HD channels, now.

02/2017 ~ Website


Darrin S.

01/2017 ~ Website

Awesome weekend getaway!

Bear Den Log Cabin was exactly what we needed! We wanted to getaway but not drive too far, we also wanted to relax and unwind from our busy schedules. The cabin was perfect! It had everything we needed to cook, plenty of space and a few extras.
Manager Response
It sounds like the Bear Den Log Cabin was perfect for the relaxing getaway you needed. We are so glad you found this cabin.

12/2016 ~ Website

Girls holiday crafting weekend.

Deborah W.
We had a wonderful time at the Bear Den Lodge. Girlfriends spending time together Christmas crafting, beautiful meals and walks on the property. You do need to invest in better coffee cups. There was a poor selection available, which for this coffee drinking group was a problem.
Manager Response
Happy to hear the girlfriend getaway was a fun success. We are on it and will be stocking the home with better coffee cups.

09/2016 ~ Website

Bear Den

Heidi T.
This was a great cabin in many the beaten track, but not too far off. Lovely cabin. Many nice touches inside. Only problem was the entertainment center. We never were able to get the radio to work.
Manager Response
We are glad you enjoyed this sweet little cabin just a bit off the beaten track for your Mt Hood vacation. We look forward to your next visit.

07/2016 ~ Website

Bear Den Log Cabin review

Robert G.
Roomy, everything worked, clean, enjoyable

07/2016 ~ Website

Beautiful cabin in lovely setting

Had a family get together at the Bear Den Log cabin and it was fantastic. A beautiful house with everything you need. Very comfortable and cozy. The stream running next to the house lent a wonderful calming feeling to the experience.
Manager Response
So good to hear that you had a fantastic family gathering at the Bear Den Log Cabin. The sounds of Billy Creek running by the back deck is so soothing.

07/2016 ~ Website

Bear Den Log Cabin

Lynn S.
Pleasant getaway

06/2016 ~ Website

Bear Den

Daniel C.
Great property. Clean, private(ish), great amenities like a grill, fireplace, and hot tub. We used it as a relaxing base camp for some longer hikes.
Manager Response
It sounds like you had a very nice vacation at the Bear Den Log Cabin. The trails are now snow-free, so this is the season for those long hikes.

05/2016 ~ Website


Rick B.
Very nice place...BUT VERY POOR Wifi connection. In today's world our group of young people still want to be connected. Service super slow!!
Manager Response
We are happy that you enjoyed your visit to the Bear Den Log Cabin. Even though we are just a 1-hour drive from Portland, some of our locations do not have access to high-speed Internet. We hope you ha a good time experiencing the mountains.

05/2016 ~ Website

Midweek Getaway

Alice K.
We had the most wonderful time at Bear Den Log Cabin. The home was clean and well maintained. We were there in mid-May, the Rhododendrons were all in bloom and the decks were to die for. The goal was to completely unwind and distress and by day 2 we had achieved our goal. We had torrential rain the entire time we were there but portions of the porch were covered so that we could still enjoy the outdoors and were even able to walk down to the river on the last day (when the sun started to shine?). The management staff was wonderful. We are looking forward to visiting again in the fall.
Manager Response
We love hearing that your vacation at the Bear Den Log Cabin was relaxing and allowed you to unwind. And thankfully the rain did not damper your spirits. We look forward to seeing you again in the fall.

04/2016 ~ Website

Very good stay

Jeff M.
We had a great stay for our honeymoon in this cabin. it was well thought out, the amenitites were nice, the vacation rental hosts were very professional and kind. plenty of firewood for two days which was great. the kitchen was gorgeous, the bathrooms were well stocked. very clean. very quiet. we would visit again!
Manager Response
Congratulations on your marriage! We are so happy that you chose the Bear Den Log Cabin for your honeymoon and that this charming place was just right for your special time together. We look forward to seeing you for your 1st anniversary.

02/2016 ~ Website

Bear Den Cabin

Beautiful cabin in a great setting! Wish it were a little closer to the ski resorts. Could use better lighting in the bedrooms. Otherwise a very nice cabin!
Manager Response
The Bear Den Log Cabin is perfect for a relaxing vacation with the creek in the back yard, the river nearby and no traffic noise. The light fixture in the upstairs bedroom has been replaced, so it should be much brighter now.

01/2016 ~ Website

Our 5 Star Vacation at the Bear Den Log Cabin

Ivan L.
Top notch all the way. Located right next to a stream and river in the mist of a forest. Very comfortable living accommodations with spacious bedrooms, baths, card room, fireplace, fully loaded kitchen and large deck with BBQ (witch we fully enjoyed. All this met our highest expectations for a log cabin experience, but then it snowed and pushed our ultimate vacation over the top. Highly Enjoyable and Recommended by some family that comes from Maui, Hawaii 🙂
Manager Response
So glad that you had the pleasure of experiencing a true mountain adventure during your visit to Mt Hood. We look forward to seeing you again.

01/2016 ~ Website

Great cabin and rental company but terrible beds

Kevin U.
We stayed here for our honeymoon trip at the Bear Den Log Cabin. The cabin itself and rental company were great; however the beds were terrible. There was a deep trough on each side of the king bed with a hump in the middle. We were glad we left when we did. The mattresses were beyond worn out. The little log book on the coffee table in the cabin had nearly every entry from all of the previous guests mentioning the terrible beds, it was almost comical to read the entries. We would stay at another cabin but not this one again. In all seriousness a cheap air mattress would have been better than the worn out bed.
Manager Response
Congratulations on your honeymoon. We apologize about the mattresses. The good news is that new mattresses are being delivered today. They are top-of-the-line pillow-top mattresses. We hope you will give this cabin another chance with the new beds.

12/2015 ~ Website

Our little getaway

Jordan S.
We loved the Bear Den! Very authentic log cabin! Just minutes away from hiking! Kitchen had everything we needed and the grill was a plus! The running creek in the backyard was an awesome touch. It was here that I asked my girlfriend Misti to marry me, so this will always have a little piece of our hearts and will definitely be back!
Manager Response
Congratulations on your engagement! We are very blessed to have been part of this special moment in your lives. We look forward to your next visit to the Bear Den Log Cabin.

11/2015 ~ Website

Thanksgiving Mountain Getaway

Nancy A.
Fantastic spot between a creek and river with a lovely log home. Furniture was cozy and dining area great! Kitchen has more cookware then I have at home. All the appliances were new and easy to use. Great porch and nice deck and fun antique touches inside. Since this is a review I will mention the negatives too. Beds were the most uncomfortable ever. The jacuzzi tub is hard to use and the small water heater does not support it well enough to have even a partially filled tub and you still get cold water when you turn on the jets. It was hard to get a fire going with only 7 matches and mostly wet wood. I know it shouldn't matter when you are in a mountain retreat but, the television was so small it was funny trying to watch a DVD. We absolutely had a really great and memorable vacation with our family and would recommend this cabin especially in the summer. The staff at Mt. Hood Rentals are great and Faye was wonderful. I look forward to renting with them again as this was our fourth different cabin rental through them. I have many great memories with my family because of them and hope to make many more!
Manager Response
Thank you for sharing how nice the cabin is for a cozy vacation We appreciate the comments regarding property updates. We will be speaking with the homeowners about these items. Both mattresses were replaced in January 2016 with high-end 15-inch pillow top mattresses.

10/2015 ~ Website

Bear Den Log Cabin - Great Place to Celebrate my Retirement

Beverly T.
Wonderful place nestled in the trees, charming brook running alongside house and Salmon River to the other side of property. VERY comfortable place with lots of room in bedrooms, kitchen and living room. Short distance to Wildwood Recreation Area where we walked the dog everyday.
Manager Response
Congratulations on your retirement. Wildwood Park is really great for walking the dog, playing with the kids and checking out the interpretive displays at Cascade Streamwatch.

09/2015 ~ Website

bear's den log cabin

Michael M.
very well appointed and a lovely cabin. Were especially pleased with the attention to detail to make us comfortable.
Manager Response
So good to hear you enjoyed the Bear Den Log Cabin.

07/2015 ~ Website

Vacation in the mountain woods

Our stay in the mountain cabin was very relaxing with no interruptions. We slept late, it was so peaceful. The cabin was clean and roomy with all the amenities.

07/2015 ~ Website

Perfect environment

Mary H.
My two dogs and I had a great time enjoying the creek so close to the house and the river a short walk away. We plan to come again soon.
Manager Response
So wonderful to know you had a great time at the Bear Den Log Cabin.

03/2015 ~ Website

Exactly what we wanted!

Mary P.
This cabin was just what we needed...a relaxing place to just be together,to talk, play games, cook great meals (a beautiful kitchen!). It was the perfect mix of rustic and modern and right next to a beautiful creek). We would love to come back!!

02/2015 ~ Website

Always a treat to stay at!

Jennifer I.
This was my second stay at Bear Den and obviously loved it the first time to return. Its secluded in the front once you drive down a small hill and has a couple short paths down to the river which is gorgeous to sit near anytime of the day. The large ceiling and spacious rooms are great for up to 4 people to enjoy plus the upstairs room has a soaking tub with jets! The back deck overlooks a running creek and is great to sit at or bbq on. This is also perfect for a dog who loves nature!

10/2014 ~ Website

Bear Den feels like home

Tom M.
We've been enjoying the Bear Den for many years. We know when we visit our family near Sandy, that we can count on the casual comfort of the Bear Den.

08/2014 ~ Website

Bear den lodge

We were thrilled with the cabin. One important issue though was the deck was slippery. (Needed a power washing) and their were nails sticking out that would cut bare feet. Otherwise the place was great.

08/2014 ~ Website

Lovely setting

The property is in a beautiful, quiet setting with incredible trees and a lovely creek. The house has a nice open floor plan and functional kitchen. My major complaint is that the beds and pillows are very uncomfortable, so we didn't sleep very well. If it were not for the beds, I would definitely go back.

07/2014 ~ Website

Week of Peace

We had the most relaxing and peaceful stay at this wonderful cabin. Bear Den Cabin was everything that we had hoped it would be. The setting was perfect! The cabin was secluded enough for privacy and peace. And the location was the best. The only thing that we would HIGHLY recommend would be for the owners of the cabin to update the beds and the couches. Comfort while on vacation is something that should never be overlooked. And the mattresses are very old and hard on the beds. The couches are falling about and very difficult to sit comfortably on. Other than that, the cabin is wonderful and we will be back! We love doing business with Mt. Hood Vacation Rentals. They are the best!

07/2014 ~ Website

bears den review

Judith L.
The guest services charge (in this case $145 for 2 nights) seemed excessive especially since there were no essential items such as scraper, sponge, dish cloth, laundry soap, spatulas for pans, adequate light in the upstairs bedroom or drawer space. The jets in the tub were weak.
Manager Response
Thank you for the head's up on supplies. The home should have a kitchen sponge and laundry soap. There should also be scrapers and spatulas in the kitchen. We do our inventories in November, so we will need to recheck for supplies in the cabin. We will need to inspect the spa tub jets.

05/2014 ~ Website

Nice Place

Rebecca L.
I will return to this house again. Just a few things though. There were a ton of dead/live flies upstairs when we got there. I mean a TON. We killed and vacuumed them up and they didn’t come back. There are little things that need repairs... things that do not effect the comfort. It was my first time using this management company, and when we went to the office to pick up our keys (between their open times of 4-6pm) no one was there, for a long time... It made us very nervous. The home is beautiful and comfortable. The kitchen is really well stocked. The setting is great and I loved hearing the water from the creek.

05/2014 ~ Website

It was lovely. It had everything we needed.

Connie O.
The cabin was great. My family was there to celebrate my 60th birthday. We had a wonderful time. The location was beautiful, the cabin had everything we needed and we enjoyed the rustic feel of the logs and the jet tub. We'll be back again.

04/2014 ~ Website

Amazing Experience, Great Value

Bear Den is an awesome place to stay. So huge and luxurious, private, and a warm, welcoming vibe. We loved keeping the fire going, running the bbq, and just relaxing. Would visit again.

01/2014 ~ Website

Not as good as expected.

Barbi S.
I have rented from Mt Hood Rentals before & found the properties to be in top notch condition. This particular rental had an oven with a non-functioning heating element. This resulted in a ruined dinner where I had invited my father over to dine with us. Also, the high chair & crib I had paid for was not present upon arrival late that night, which resulted in placing our infant grandson in a potentially dangerous situation by sleeping in bed with his parents. My husband is a paramedic & has witnessed 2 infant deaths due to this type of event. My calls to the emergency number was unanswered that night. Mt Hood Rental corrected the mistake the following day & did not charge me for the service, which I appreciated. I feel the property could use a fresh coat of paint inside, too.

01/2014 ~ Website

Great stay!!

Mark E.
From the location to the management staff, this was one of the best vacations I've had yet!

11/2013 ~ Website


Grady P.
Had one of the best Thanksgivings with a few of my closest friends. Thank you so much. plan on doing this again.

10/2013 ~ Website

Great location, creekside.

Only complaint was.....not enough light in any room to read comfortably. Need to up the wattage of bulbs and add more lamps.

10/2013 ~ Website

Bears Den

Tom M.

09/2013 ~ Website

Just What We Wanted!

The freezer didn't freeze and it was difficult to read because of the dim lights in living and bedroom areas. All else was perfect! We loved sitting on the deck, listening to the stream and river water. There were neighbors but it felt like we were secluded in the woods. It was accessible for our 93 year old mother who wanted a last walk in the woods. Wonderful.

08/2013 ~ Website

Bear Den Aug 2013

Mary Kay
Property was in a very beautiful site. Property itself was not well maintained- dusty, upstairs whirlpool tub leaked into downstairs bath, freezer needed defrosting, plates/cups were cracked and chipped, couches were not comfortable. The deck was very nice. We have stayed at many cabin rentals around the country and this one, while it could be beautiful, was not due to the overall condition of the property itself. We also tried to stop by and call the property management company over the weekend during business hours and the office was not open during the posted times and we kept being thrown into voicemail when we called. While we enjoyed our vacation in beautiful Oregon, the accommodations were disappointing for the price we paid.

08/2013 ~ Website

Bear Den's Cabin

Catherine M.
Lovely house and location for our needs. Very professional rental agency. Beautiful area. Well-stocked kitchen. However, there was a small leak from under the toilet in the master bath which resulted in a strong urine smell the entire time. Wax ring needs replacing. Also the mattresses in both bedrooms need replacing. This would make it a 5-star in all categories.

08/2013 ~ Website

Mt. Hood cabin

The cabin was spacious and wonderful for our family vacation. A hair dryer in the cabin would be a good addition.

07/2013 ~ Website

Bath, Bat, and Beyond!

Amy R.
We really loved the Bear Den cabin. It was clean and comfy. We had a problem when we filled the Jacuzzi in the master bath--it leaked a small amount of water onto the lower bathroom floor through electrical conduit, so we had to turn the water off right away and couldn't use the bath. But the shower worked fine and we were able to clean up without problems, but it was disappointing to not be able to use the tub. Another interesting sidelight was the cute little bat we noticed flying around on the 2nd and 3rd nights of our stay. He didn't bother anyone, but he kind of freaked out our 14-year-old niece! All in all, it was a nice stay. Thanks so much!
Manager Response
Thank you for letting us know about the leak in the soaking tub. We will take a look at that. We are sorry to hear there was a bat in the cabin. They are out and about this time of year, we will see what we can do to move him to the outside world.

07/2013 ~ Website


We had a very nice relaxing stay. The staff were friendly and helpful. The home mostly met expectations. My suggestion for the home would be to have better lighting in the living room for reading, an added floor lamp or two would be helpful. It was a lovely room, but very difficult for reading. For management of the rental, I would suggest that the info notebook found in the rental be made more specific to that rental. Such as: where the mentioned trails are to the creek and river are (we found one) and where the garbage cans are that you want us to put the garbage in ( we looked all around the area outside of the house didn't see any, then all packed up and driving out we noticed some, way up the road by the paved road, but still weren't sure whether they were for the home we stayed in).

06/2013 ~ Website

Oregon, Summer ski trip

Veronica G.
It was an amazing log cabin, we really enjoy it. It was comfortable and very cozy. We love the river on the back, It was clean, but I think they can do more, some dusting it will give it at 5 start. We hope to come back some day.

05/2013 ~ Website

Large carpenter ants that would keep us from going back.

Phyllis N.
The house was wonderfully quiet with beautiful scenery to allow a very relaxing stay until one ant dropped into a snack bowl and another dropped next to me on the love seat. From that point on I kept waiting for another to drop onto me. Would not recommend to anyone until the ants are exterminated.

03/2013 ~ Website

Bear's Den Cabin 3.1.13

Sheri T.
Loved the location, and the privacy. The creek was MUCH better than the pictures and gave us great sound all night. The only derrogatory things were the trash that someone had dumped on the property just off the deck and the mice. Didn't mind the mice too much, just was sad to have the trash there to ruin an amazing view.

01/2013 ~ Website

Best Trip

My husband and I had a fabulous time. This was THE best pet friendly home we have ever stayed in. We are planning on making this a yearly trip.

01/2013 ~ Website

Bear Den Log Cabin

Lisa W.
I have rented Mt. Hood properties through Mt Hood Vacation Rentals for many years and have always been satisfied. This was my first time staying in Bear Den Log Cabin. It is a lovely place, close to the ski resorts and other amenities but at the same time felt nice and secluded. The house was very clean and the furnishings comfortable. I gave a 3 star rating with regard to the quality of furniture and amenities for the following reasons. The kitchen appliances are a quite outdated. It took us a while to figure out the electric oven before realizing the knobs were on incorrectly. The jet tub in the master bedroom leaked water through the downstairs light fixture when we began filling it for a bath. Other than that I would stay here again.

11/2012 ~ Website

Wonderful Retreat

Ayesha W.
Bear Log Cabin was very charming and cozy. We had a wonderful time and would love to return. The surrounding was beautiful, it felt very private yet we were only 5 minutes from grocery stores and Stumptown coffee (Aria Cafe).

May 2023
  01 02 03 04 05 06
07 08 09 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31      
June 2023
        01 02 03
04 05 06 07 08 09 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30  
July 2023
02 03 04 05 06 07 08
09 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31          
August 2023
    01 02 03 04 05
06 07 08 09 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    
September 2023
          01 02
03 04 05 06 07 08 09
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
October 2023
01 02 03 04 05 06 07
08 09 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        
November 2023
      01 02 03 04
05 06 07 08 09 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30    
December 2023
          01 02
03 04 05 06 07 08 09
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
January 2024
  01 02 03 04 05 06
07 08 09 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31      
February 2024
        01 02 03
04 05 06 07 08 09 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29    
March 2024
          01 02
03 04 05 06 07 08 09
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
April 2024
  01 02 03 04 05 06
07 08 09 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        
May 2024
      01 02 03 04
05 06 07 08 09 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
Check-In Only
Check-Out Only

Search Availability

Detailed Quote
Add to Favorites