View All Reviews For Vacation Rental Zigzag Mountain Lodge

Avg. Rating:
Rating
Wonderful Stay
A Guest from Portland, OR recommends this property
Stayed 2 days in Apr, 2021

We had a wonderful time at the Zig Zag Lodge! It was incredibly spacious and comfortable for our 3 couples and the yard was great for our dog, with plenty of room for his crate in the living room.

I was very pleasantly surprised by how equipped the kitchen was. We enjoyed sitting by the fire, playing games, and enjoying the hot tub. We will definitely be back again!

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


A great stay!
Ashley D. from Gresham, OR recommends this property
Stayed 3 days in Mar, 2021

We absolved our stay! Minus going scared by others writings about it being haunted lol but we loved it! And tried to take care of it as our own! We will definitely try to stay again in the future!

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Family Getaway
Lisa B. from Portland, OR recommends this property
Stayed 3 days in Feb, 2021

This home is lovely for a family getaway. Close access to local food places and a store, short drive to Government Camp, and a hot tub and fire pit! We really enjoyed our time relaxing in the cozy living area, making meals in the kitchen, and lounging upstairs in the family tv room. The huge windows showcase the falling snow perfectly. The home was very clean,and they did have warm throw blankets throughout the rooms that were excellent. The only issue was the power went out, which we didn't know was connected to the water. So we had no power or water for most of the day on our second day. No fault of the home, but I guess common for the area. The phone (landline) did not work during the outage and when the power came back on, realized it didn't work at all. There is WiFi but once that went out we had no service at all at the home. There is a gas stove, but no matches or lighters provided. So we spent a lot of time driving to hunt down provisions as all stores in the area were closed due to the power outage. We also needed to drive out of the neighborhood to get cell phone service. A good suggestion would be to have matches and a lighter available for these situations. For future guests, a good idea is to have these things and bottles of water just in case! A few minor things were also noted - the microwave tray was missing, and there was no working can opener. Love that this place was pet-friendly and our dog had a great time playing in the snow around the front and backyard area. The home is located on a short drive and is quiet and private. The management company has a convenient text number that you can use to communicate and they were responsive. You can't go wrong with this home!

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Birthday Weekend Escape
A Guest from Tigard, OR recommends this property
Stayed 2 days in Jan, 2021

We loved staying at Zig Zag Lodge. We escaped to the mountain to celebrate two birthdays, and had a wonderful time. The house was clean and perfect size for our family. Great location with a quick drive up to the snow parks for a fun day of sledding. We will definitely be back!

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Felt woodsy
A Guest from Happy Valley, OR recommends this property
Stayed 3 days in Jan, 2021

This place was warm and cozy. It had every thing you could possibly want in the kitchen. We didn’t use the hot tub. There were plenty of games and puzzles to play with. The location was close to the store and a few restaurants. It needs some updated couches as the cushions really shouldn’t be called cushions anymore. They have been well loved. Mattresses were comfortable. The place wasn’t spotless, but wasn’t filthy either. It probably needs a deep, deep clean. Lots of dust everywhere. Overall, we were satisfied with our getaway. Especially during covid!

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Winter stay
Greg T. from Portland, OR recommends this property
Stayed 2 days in Dec, 2020

Very nice time. Clean and stocked. With comfortable setting.

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Beautiful stay on Mt. Hood
Laurel T. from Fayetteville, AR recommends this property
Stayed 3 days in Oct, 2020

We loved our stay at the Zigzag Mountain Lodge. It was part of our honeymoon, and it was perfect. The cabin itself is really pretty and very comfortable. Our only issue in the house was that we couldn't figure out the TV - it seemed to have Roku but we were never able to make it work. But we actually didn't even ask the rental agency for help because it wasn't that important to us. I'm sure they could have given us instructions. Aside from that, no issues. The kitchen is well stocked with cookware and dishes, so it was easy to bring in groceries and take care of all of our meals. Another review mentions that the hottub wasn't very private due to the neighbor...don't be swayed by that. We did see the neighbor a couple times, but we never felt like it wasn't private enough, and their house is far enough away that it really wasn't an issue. When we drove in, we thought it was a little less secluded that we expected, but it is very quiet and it was actually nice to walk down the road and see the other houses in the neighborhood. It's a very pretty road with other nice cabins and houses. And the location is really convenient to great hikes (or skiing if you go in the winter.) We absolutely loved it and would definitely stay again.

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Such a great getaway!
Rebecca H. from Seattle, WA recommends this property
Stayed 5 days in Aug, 2020

We rented out the ZigZag Mountain Lodge as a way for family from Seattle, Portland, and Salem to meet up for the first time since Christmas (thanks, pandemic). We had plenty of space, found the kitchen super well-equipped for our needs (we’re a family of cooks), enjoyed the hot tub, and our canine family member became a hiking addict. We loved being able to see and hear the ZigZag river at night through our open windows. We would absolutely stay here again!

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


The perfect getaway
Frances D. from Beaverton, OR recommends this property
Stayed 2 days in Jun, 2020

This house was the perfect getaway for our family! With the stress of covid we needed to get away, and I’m so glad we chose Mt. Hood vacation rentals! The house was clean, quiet, and had all the amenities you would want. It was an absolutely beautiful modern cabin in the woods with the zigzag river behind it. We walked all along the river and had a blast. The house was great! I will definitely stay here again, and I would recommend it to everyone!

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Fantastic Cabin
Katie C. from Prosser, WA recommends this property
Stayed 3 days in Jun, 2020

Cabin was wonderful, well stocked kitchen with nice pans for cooking. Beds were comfortable and clean. Wifi and TV worked perfectly and we felt quite at home there. High quality rental would definitely go back.

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Fantastic rental.
A Guest from Vancouver, WA recommends this property
Stayed 3 days in Jun, 2020

Everything A+. The only exception was the lack of hot tub privacy. Neighbor was working in the backyard often, with a clear view.

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Family time at Zigzag Mountain Lodge in July
A Guest from Beaverton, 97006 recommends this property
Stayed 3 days in Jul, 2019

We came for some family time with 7 adults and 2 children. The upstairs bedroom is very large (and very bright, without coverings for high windows) and accommodated 2 adults and 2 children. However the upstairs loft has fold outs which were very uncomfortable and kitchen was not quite up to cooking for that many. Oh well, we enjoyed the large great room and gas fireplace as well as the hot tub and proximity to many hikes and outdoor activities. I think this space is very nice for 6-7 people at most depending on sleeping configurations you need. Also, would suggest staff confirm it is ok with the neighbor for people to walk through private property to trail access next to this home.

Manager Response:

Thank you for your honest review. We would love to serve you again in one of our larger vacation rentals where the family can spread out and have all real beds. Please call us next time, so we can assist you with finding the perfect vacation rental.

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Comfortable, Peaceful, Rustic, Beautiful
A Guest from Portland, OR recommends this property
Stayed 3 days in Mar, 2019

This home was wonderful. It had everything we needed including the peaceful sounds of the river through the trees. The home was beautiful inside and out and had plenty of space for us to move - including our little one. It was perfect distance to snow and sledding areas. We did come across a couple of mice inside the house that looked to be getting into the house through a little hole near the fireplace. Unfortunately we noticed a lot of dog poop around the property which was frustrating when walking around outside. Lastly, the home really needed to be dusted. While these things were a negative to the home, overall, we enjoyed our stay and the home was perfect for our family. We would definitely come back and are thankful to have been able to enjoy it.

Manager Response:

We are happy to know that you loved your stay at the Zigzag Mountain Lodge. Yuk about the dog poop; when the snow melts, it starts showing up - we are busy scooping it up and out of the way. Thanks for the head's up on the mouse; we will be taking care of that, too. We look forward to your next visit.

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Great place for a stay at Mt. Hood
Larry M. from N/A, CO recommends this property
Stayed 2 days in Feb, 2019

We had 8 people for our vacation and it was very comfortable. Having 2 bathrooms was awesome, and the kitchen was very nice as well. The hot tub was a squeeze but overall added to the experience

Manager Response:

We are happy to hear that you had such a great vacation at the Zigzag Mountain Lodge. The hot tub is ideal for 4 - 5 people at the most, so good job getting all 8 in at one time.

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Great stay!
A Guest from Lake Owsego, OR recommends this property
Stayed 3 days in Feb, 2019

It was the perfect stay! Location, size, amenities, everything was what we expected! The only issue I had was that the carpet had dog hair all over it, so the fact that it’s pet friendly is a bit of a turn off but not enough to deter me from staying again ����

Manager Response:

We are happy that you had a great time at the Zigzag Mountain Lodge. We apologize that the carpet was not vacuumed as well as it should have been. We have replaced the vacuum. See you again soon.

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Winter Vacation 2019
A Guest from Pasco, WA recommends this property
Stayed 3 days in Jan, 2019

Our Winter retreat was everything we hoped for at ZigZag Mountain Lodge!

Manager Response:

Happy to hear you had a wonderful winter retreat at the Zigzag Mountain Lodge. This cabin is really awesome during the summer, too.

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Great company to work with with lots of location options
Crystal D. from Chewelah, WA does not recommend this property
Stayed 2 days in Oct, 2018

This is a beautiful house that is very comfortable inside. It is located at a dead end road but you do have a next door neighbor who can see you while your in the hot tub. That was our only complaint that the hot tub is not private but that can be easily fixed with a privacy barrier on one side which we did recommend to them. The fireplace/central heating kept the house very comfortable and the upstairs living area was relaxing to watch a movie/Netflix or amazon. It has cable tv but Very limited Channels which was only disappointing because we were expecting to be able to watch TWD but couldn’t....Good thing for Ondemand when we got home. Also recommend and pizza pan because there is only cookie sheets which didn’t work well for pizza. We are excited to be trying out a different house with them soon, it is really nice that they have so many different options available. I would definitely recommend this company to rent from, we were able to get this cabin last minute which was great and they truly try to fit your needs to the right house for you.

Manager Response:

The Zigzag Mountain Lodge is a beautiful home. We are sorry to hear that it was not the right fit for you. There is an expanded cable TV line up with more than 60 channels including AMC, so we are not sure what was amiss when you visited. The home also has a Roku and Hulu for even more content. We look forward to seeing you next time.

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


July 4th at Zigzag Mountain Lodge
Kelly R B. from Portland, OR recommends this property
Stayed 5 days in Jul, 2018

Great location, walking distance to two forest service trails, the neighbors are close but were very nice. The beds are comfortable and the lodge is well maintained. Enjoyable and close to everything.

Manager Response:

Happy to hear that you and your dogs enjoyed your stay at the Zigzag Mountain Lodge. See you next time!

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Great weekend getaway
Erzsebet N. from Portland, OR recommends this property
Stayed 2 days in May, 2018

The house was very clean and comfortable, they even provided poopy bags for our dogs. I was a bit disappointed that there was no access to the river and the landscaping around the house could have been nicer. But the house itself was top notch!

Manager Response:

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Zigzag Mountain Lodge. We mostly have natural landscaping at our vacation homes, however there are a few places with lawns if that is your preference.

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Cozy Zigzag Holiday
A Guest from Portland, OR recommends this property
Stayed 3 days in Dec, 2017

LOVED our stay here! Everything was perfect and as expected. I love renting from Mt.Hood Rentals - always so helpful, cheerful, and professional! Can't wait to see where we visit next season!

Manager Response:

Thank you for staying with us every year. We appreciate your business.

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Stayed 2 days in august
Mohammed L. from Lake Oswego, OR recommends this property
Stayed 2 days in Aug, 2017

Outstanding property and people in th office.
I'm considering renting another one in September.

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Wonderful cabin, had a great time!
A Guest from Seattle, WA recommends this property
Stayed 2 days in Apr, 2017

We loved the location, the kitchen, and especially the hot tub! We took a short hike to the river and really enjoyed our stay, would love to come back. Great service from Mt. Hood Vacation Rentals as well :)

Manager Response:

We love the end-of-the-road setting for the Zigzag Mountain Lodge, too. If you go just past the driveway, there is a trail that leads into the forest that you might want to explore during your next visit.

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Superb
Karen C. from Sandy, OR recommends this property
Stayed 2 days in Mar, 2017

Very Relaxed, Clean and Quietly Secluded

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Annual Snowboard Adventure
Chris G. from Long Beach, CA recommends this property
Stayed 4 days in Feb, 2017

Great home with everything our group needed.

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Love the location!
Pamela B. from Seattle, WA recommends this property
Stayed 3 days in Jan, 2017

Beautiful cabin. Quiet area. There was a dog barking at times from down the road but otherwise we all loved it and would stay again. We did run out of paper towels and napkins. So, perhaps could stock extra for large groups. Good ski discount ($14 cheaper since ski lift tickets were more expensive over MLK weekend/holiday). Friendly staff. Very clean cabin.

Manager Response:

We are so pleased to know you enjoyed your visit to the Zigzag Mountain Lodge over President's Weekend. We hope the dog did not bark too much. We do provide a starter supply of paper towels and napkins (2 rolls of paper towels and about 50 paper napkins), so we suggest that guests bring extra if they know they will be using these items alot. We look forward to your next visit to Mt Hood.

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Family fun at Zig Zag Mountain Lodge
Karen H. from Berwyn, PA recommends this property
Stayed 8 days in Jul, 2016

Our extended family group, which included my husband and me, our daughter, son-in-law, two little granddaughters, and our grown son, found this property to be very comfortable and accommodating to our varied needs. There was excellent hiking both closer to Mt. Hood, and up the road from our lane. Our son-in-law arranged for a fly-fishing guide for two of the days he was there. We enjoyed Mt Hood Brewing Company and Timberline Lodge, both of which were only about 20 minutes away. Also the Museum in Government Camp was a great place to visit. Portland is only about an hour away, and on the day when we had to take our son to the airport, we visited the Children's Museum and the Arboretum, both of which were excellent., We also got to the Pendleton Store, which is not to be missed. We found "eating in" to be very convenient with the well-appointed kitchen, and the fruit available in the area was amazing! I was very appreciative for the professionally stocked linens - and lots and lots of towels! Very nice, indeed! Mt. Hood is a special place, made more enjoyable by this lovely place to call home for the time we were there.

Manager Response:

It sounds like you made the most of your Mt Hood vacation and enjoyed a lot of activities. Summer-time is the best for hiking, fishing and fresh produce. We hope your son-in-law caught a lot of fish; we have 3 world-class rivers for fly fishing here. We look forward to your next visit to the Zigzag Mountain Lodge.

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Zigzag
Laura G. from Hiram, OH recommends this property
Stayed 4 days in Aug, 2016

Wonderful

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Beautiful place that needs attention to details
Amy B. from Meredith, NH recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Jun, 2016

home appears to have rarely been used, like new in many ways which was good and bad. The good is: very quiet location, can hear river from home. Gas fireplace worked. Nice fire pit, room to spread out. the bad are: mattress on pull out couch in loft was horrendous. Worst ever seen. Son and wife had to sleep on floor. Mattresses on both bedrooms on main floor were very soft but tolerable. Hot tub remained luke warm, 99-100 degrees, despite adjusting temp. Pots and pans appeared new but everything stuck to pans and no large pans. Back deck has boards sections sticking up and needs work. No access to river from home, extremely steep(80-90 degrees).

Manager Response:

We hope you had a nice vacation. We regret that not everything in the home was not to your expectations. The sofa bed is new, so we apologize that the mattress was not comfortable. The mattresses downstairs are fairly new as well, so likely not as firm as you prefer. The hot tub has been heating at 104, so we expect it went into economy mode during your visit. We are available 7 days a week to check the hot tub and make needed setting adjustments. The river is visible during the winter and you can hear the river during the summer, but this home is not riverfront; we do not recommend trying to walk down to the river. If river access is important, we do offer several riverfront homes; on our website under the Vacation Rentals tab, click Popular Searches, then Riverfront Homes to search all homes that are along the rivers.

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Nice cabin at the base of Mt Hood
Nathan P. from Tigard, OR recommends this property
Stayed 2 days in Mar, 2016

Great cabin with very quiet location overlooking zig zag river

Manager Response:

We love the quiet setting at the Zigzag Mountain Lodge, too. Just past the home, you can access a nice trail for jogging or walking your dog.

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Zigzag Mountain Lodge, 02/03/16-02/06/16
Joseph M. from Arlington, WA recommends this property
Stayed 3 days in Feb, 2016

Lovely, well equipped home at the end of the road. We enjoyed the cozy fireplace, the hot tub, the fire circle for our s'mores, and the gated front porch which made a perfect place for our grandchildren to get outside safely to have some noisy fun running and stacking and re-stacking our firewood. Great kitchen and dining area. We are already planning to return next year.

Manager Response:

We are pleased to know that the Zigzag Mountain Lodge was perfect for your family get-together. We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Perfect Family Retreat
Kirsten C. from Beaverton, OR recommends this property
Stayed 3 days in Dec, 2015

Beautiful new home for our family Christmas vacation. The hot tub and fire pit was amazing and we had some amazing meals in the well appointed kitchen. We are looking forward to rebooking this beautiful home.

Manager Response:

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your Christmas at the Zigzag Mountain Lodge. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


×
Back to Top