View All Reviews For Vacation Rental Forest View Lodge

Avg. Rating:
Rating
Mt Hood Getaway
A Guest from Battle Ground, WA recommends this property
Stayed 7 days in Aug, 2020

We really enjoyed the house. It was everything we wanted and more! Other than the bunk beds, the beds were comfortable. The kitchen was well stocked but we struggled with some of the appliances (dishwasher took a long time to run and oven took a long time to heat up) but the problems were small. The setting and house was amazing. Can't wait to go back!

Manager Response:

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Forest View Lodge. The dishwasher is a Bosch and they are known for long cycles. An element in the oven has been replaced, so it is heating up more quickly now.

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Relaxing 5 days.
A Guest from Canby, OR recommends this property
Stayed 5 days in Aug, 2020

A mid-August dream. Rented for just myself and daughter. Goal was to sleep, eat, read, watch movies and sleep some more. Upstairs bed was the best bed I've ever slept in; I forgot to figure out what it was because I wanted to bring it home with me. Bunk bed room (didn't use).. just looking at them made me cringe, think army barracks (but for small children probably ok) downstairs beds nothing special.Hot tub needs work. Only one jet worked and when on caused scummy bubbles (I looked at filter-appears to not have been replaced in many years). Back to August, if I hadn't been escaping yard work I could've spent the entire time doing yard work and not make a dent. Needs work but I like overgrown unkept. Be ready to get confused on which way to leave the kitchen. Both go to living room. But one way goes to stairs leading downstairs, the other to upstairs (I suggest directional arrow in kitchen). Impressive collection of dishes, cookware, utensils (all goodwill quality) but you can forget bringing that stuff - but bring a decent fry pan if your a good cook. Us?, we didn't cook a thing. Ordered out from Zig Zag Inn the entire time (I was not there to cook), just sleep and read and soak. Huge DVD collection, lots of games, x-mas lights in kitchen cupboard for stringing up (bring more for the hot tub porch, really nice). Total privacy. Basketball Court was great..3/4 fenced. Neighbor is unoccupied, under construction. Cleaners could pay attention to outdoor furniture. Watch out for final step leading to basement. We put a glow stick there, it's a hip breaker..invisible. I want the screen doors-retractable. Owners need a waterless water heater, forget about filling up the upstairs jet tub with hot water. As all have said, your not going to stream movies - DVD's only here. Don't sign on to Wi-fi pass, reception better without.

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Peaceful and comfortable
Lynette E. from Palm Desert, CA recommends this property
Stayed 5 days in Jun, 2020

Great jacuzzi, comfortable beds, and beautiful setting/location. We will definitely come again. Only downside is no TV, poor WiFi, and no blankets unless you request them.

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Great family retreat
A Guest from Portland, OR recommends this property
Stayed 3 days in May, 2020

Wonderful house with multiple living areas. Ideal for a multigenerational family getaway.

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Excellent stay!
Lindsey T. from Damascus, OR recommends this property
Stayed 2 days in Feb, 2020

This stay was excellent, the cabin is fully equipped with everything needed from the kitchen supplies, movie selection, plenty of pillows and blankets etc. the cabin itself is beautiful, clean and in a nice secluded location but easy to find.
Would definitely stay here again!

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Thanksgiving at Forest View Lodge
Pam P. from Redmond, WA recommends this property
Stayed 4 days in Nov, 2019

A very comfortable four day stay for six adults, four children and three dogs!! Beds were comfortable and kitchen was well provisioned. There was spotty but we new that going in. Many DVDs, games and books were available.

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Forest View hikers weekend
A Guest from Seattle, WA recommends this property
Stayed 4 days in Oct, 2019

Our group of 6 women out for our annual hiking trip used Forest View as home base for day hikes. The location was convenient for the low elevation hikes that were not snow covered in early October. It would have been a bit more of a drive for the Timberline region hikes that were snow covered. In general we found the house to be ideal for our purposes which include cooking together for several evenings. We all felt that some of the important and necessary appliances need attention or replacement. The dishwasher is very sad; it is generally rickety, silverware baskets won't stand up, racks won't stay on tracks, and takes hours to run a regular cycle. This is a serious issue for a house that holds up to 10 people! The gas grill would only light one small section of burner and we were unable to use it to cook the kabobs that we brought. Finally, the media devices all required many, many minutes of fiddling to operate and sometimes we had to give up. Any electronic devices that depend on wifi (such as the Apple TV and your personal laptop or phone) are nearly useless as the wifi is (maybe understandably) weak and unreliable. On the good side, hot water was plentiful, beds comfy, furnace acceptable and ambiance, decor and space allocation were all fine.

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Forest lodge
A Guest from Howards Grove, WI recommends this property
Stayed 8 days in Aug, 2019

We had s wonderful stay. The house was lovely and was located close to lots of hiking trails. The only downside was that the WiFi did not work consistently and we had difficulty using the tv. The setting was beautiful and the house fit our needs perfectly!

Manager Response:

We love the amazing setting at the Forest View Lodge, too. There are several locations around Mt Hood where the wifi service is very limited including here where the Internet speed is slow. Cable and satellite TV are not available at this location, so we rely on steaming TV with the slow Internet. This location is perfect for guests who can get by for a few days without TV and with limited access to the Internet.

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Relaxation at its finest
Joshua K. from Olympia, WA recommends this property
Stayed 3 days in Apr, 2019

The rental was amazing, it was gorgeous and peaceful and close to Salmon River trails.

Manager Response:

We love hearing about peaceful and relaxing vacations at the Forest View Lodge. We look forward to your next visit.

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Forest View Lodge
Richard B. from Seattle, WA recommends this property
Stayed 3 days in Apr, 2019

Wonderful log cabin with all amenities. Slept 5 adults and 4 kids

Manager Response:

The Forest View Lodge is perfectly set up to accommodate 2 families and it sounds like this was just right for you. Come see us again for another wonderful vacation.

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Birthday + Spring Break Getaway
Johnny C. from Hillsboro, OR recommends this property
Stayed 3 days in Mar, 2019

The rental home was amazing. We had 6 people (4 adults and 2 kids) and there was MORE than enough space. The kids could roam throughout inside & outside and they had a blast. Adults had their own privacy and plenty of space. Kitchen was great and upstairs loft was perfect. Loved the outdoor spaces for the kids and the hot tub was great. My only complaint would be the tv situation. We as a group pretty much loved in the kitchen and had to stream live tv (NCAA March Madness tournament) through the WiFi that wasn’t great. We weren’t able to do this downstairs and there was no tv in the living room. Would love to of had at least basic cable to be able to watch these sporting events.

Manager Response:

We are so happy to hear how much you loved your multi-family visit at the Forest View Lodge. We know how frustrating it can be to not be able to watch the NCAA games on cable. Unfortunately, there is no cable service available on the road where the Forest View Lodge is located and with the mountains and tall trees nearby, we cannot get a satellite signal either. This also means that the wifi is slow with the one provider that is available. As soon as a fiber optic cable is run down the road we are hooking up! We love the quiet, rural aspect of being at Mt Hood, however the technology is not that of what you will find in the city.

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Maui hoodlings
Jonathan C. from Lahaina, HI recommends this property
Stayed 10 days in Feb, 2019

Cabin was awesome more than we expected so much good memories and a fun cabin for the whole crew!will definately be back

Manager Response:

We are happy to know that we exceeded your expectations and you have so many great memories of your vacation at the Forest View Lodge. We look forward to your next visit, maybe during the summer.

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Forest Lodge
Nancy D. from Salem, OR recommends this property
Stayed 3 days in Jan, 2019

We had a girls weekend and this lodge was perfect. It is in a private setting that is beautiful. The lodge is spacious and nicely decorated. The kitchen is very well stocked and the managment company was very responsive to meeting our needs.

Manager Response:

Thank you for the kind words. We are happy to know that the girlfriend getaway at the Forest View Lodge went so well. See you again next year!

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Amazing log cabin
A Guest from Sammamish, WA recommends this property
Stayed 3 days in Aug, 2018

We had a wonderful end of summer getaway as a group of two families with kids. The cabin was very clean and spacious. We especially liked the floor plan - three floors, separate kitchen, big deck, but the overall setup was very nice as well - private location on a large lot, yet close to the main access road. The staff at Mt Hood Vacation Rentals was very helpful accommodating our late arrival. We stayed in this area many times, easily one of the better cabins around.

Manager Response:

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your multi-family Labor Day vacation at Mt Hood at the Forest View Lodge. Please come back again next year.

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Snowcation
Elizabeth P. from Jacksonville, FL recommends this property
Stayed 2 days in Feb, 2018

Love it ... best place ever .. very cozy

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Really fine
A Guest from Hood River, OR recommends this property
Stayed 3 days in Jan, 2018

Roomy 3story house with a nice home-like vibe.

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Storybook Christmas
Dena W. from Portland, OR recommends this property
Stayed 5 days in Dec, 2017

My family enjoyed a storybook 2017 Christmas in the beautiful Forest View Lodge. The house was perfect for our family of 7 adults, 4 kids, and a dog, spacious yet cozy, lots of places to gather yet have separate time when desired. The kitchen was perfect to work together to prepare meals and Christmas goodies. A well equipped kitchen with all the tools and plenty of dishes for setting a nice Christmas table. We were pleasantly surprised there was a small Christmas tree in the living room with white lights, so proceeded to decorate it with gingerbread people, strung cranberries, and homemade decorations (did I say storybook yet?). The nice selection of games and movies were a surprise also, we came with some favorites but were pleased to see there was many already available. The hot tub, of course, was wonderful, my grown kids enjoyed it on Christmas Eve while getting a fluffy white snow (did I say storybook yet?). Needless to say, a enjoyable and yes, storybook 2017 Christmas for my family. A special thanks to the MHVR staff, we had a heat issue and of course it was Christmas. Yet, they were very helpful in helping us figure out alternatives to stay warm (the wood stove and space heaters were lifesavers, not to mention those warm socks that Santa brought). There would be one thing I would caution guests about, the stairs (to the upstairs loft bedroom) have gaps (no risers) and the wood (log, beautiful) is a bit slick. We had a 20 month old and those stairs made us a bit nervous with this new walking little guy, just a note for people who might have little people.

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Home away from home
Monica M. from Kailua, HI recommends this property
Stayed 6 days in Dec, 2017

My family and friends stayed for 6 days at the Forest View Lodge over the New Year holiday, and we had a blast. The lodge itself was more than we could have hoped for. It was big enough to accommodate all of the 11 guests, was very comfortable, and warm. It felt just like a home away from home. The hot tub was a necessity being that some of the group went snowboarding all day and needed the heat to relax their aching muscles. The location of the lodge was perfect for driving up to the Ski Bowl, Timberline, and Meadows. Only took 15 minutes to get to Ski Bowl!
We accidentally forgot an iPad, and some phone chargers. I called MHVR to let them now, and they were kind enough to mail everything back to my home in Hawaii. The girls at MHVR were very professional and friendly. They really made our experience at Forest View Lodge and Mt. Hood exceptional.
We would definitely want to stay here again during any season to explore what Mt. Hood has to offer. Can't wait to return!

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Weekend getaway
Janet A. from Sherwood, OR recommends this property
Stayed 2 days in Dec, 2017

Great! Exceeded my expectations!!

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


A Thanksgiving to remember
Monika W. from St Augustine, FL recommends this property
Stayed 5 days in Nov, 2017

We had the best time at Forest View Lodge. The house was in great condition, the kitchen was fully stocked and we all had plenty of space to spread out. We loved going for walks in the area, hanging out in the hot tub and cooking delicious meals, including a Thanksgiving feast. The views from the house are unbeatable. Would definitely recommend this home!

Manager Response:

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your Thanksgiving Weekend at the Forest View Lodge. We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


AHMAZING!!!! SPOTLESS!!!!
Liz C. from Vancouver, WA recommends this property
Stayed 3 days in Sep, 2017

GORGEOUS, SPOTLESS, EASY, WILL BE BACK!

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Absolutely Wonderful!
A Guest from Huntington Beach, CA recommends this property
Stayed 3 days in May, 2017

The cabin and customer service far exceeded our expectation! The staff was very helpful and easy to work with. They made the entire process so seamless and let us enjoy our trip without any worries. The cabin itself was gorgeous and the grounds were stunning. I would recommend this cabin to anyone looking for a mountain retreat.

Manager Response:

We love the peaceful setting at the Forest View Lodge; it is so quiet and pretty and the views are spectacular.

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Nice stay
Bill W. from San Antonio, TX recommends this property
Stayed 6 days in May, 2017

The cabin was new and quaint. We had a nice stay with some livable issues.
The master bedroom had no closet space for guests. Very inconvenient due to
The fact we had hanging clothes and had to live out of our suitcase the whole time. My wife had to use a stool to get in bed and I just jumped up because it was so elevated. The shower in the master bath had 2 shower heads, but there wasn't enough pressure to operate one, much less two. The internet was hardly useable, kept going in and out. We weren't able to use hotspots because there wasn't any cell signal. The wood burning stove was worthless and too much trouble to load, and didn't put out much heat. We were there the first part of May and it got up to 90 degrees, No AC available. The TV setup was odd. They had Netflix and Amazon available but the internet was so bad you couldn't stream movies. You had to watch DVDs. Shops and restaurants close enough.

Manager Response:

We regret that the Forest View Lodge did not meet your expectations. This home is in a location where there is minimal cell service which is the case in many areas around Mt Hood. We appreciate your comments about the wifi and will look into it. Thank you for the head's up about the shower heads; we will remedy that situation as well. We do have several homes with cable TV, high speed Internet and good cell service, so be sure to mention that these things are important to you the next time you visit.

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Out-Freaking-Standing
Glenn G. from Vancouver, WA recommends this property
Stayed 4 days in Apr, 2017

From start to finish, our experience at the Forest View Lodge was great. The folks at Mt. Hood Vacation Rentals are tremendously helpful and thorough. Check in and check out was easy peasy. The accommodations were beyond our expectations. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend using Mt. Hood Vacation Rentals.

Manager Response:

YAY for your outstanding vacation at Forest View Lodge. We want your vacation to be memorable, relaxing and re-energizing. It is our pleasure to serve you and go beyond your expectations with service and accommodations. We are excited for your next visit!

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Spring Break Trip
Karen M. from Southwick, MA recommends this property
Stayed 4 days in Mar, 2017

We had a fantastic time at Forest View Lodge for a Spring Break getaway with our 2 college students, my sister and her 2 dogs. The location was perfect for those in our party who wanted to hit the slopes, and convenient to wineries, hikes, and exploring for those who don't ski/snowboard. The house was a perfect size and setup for our group, allowing for time together, as well as privacy. What a find!

Manager Response:

It is nice to hear that the Forest View Lodge worked out so well for your family gathering. With 3 levels and 3 living spaces (including the game room), not to mention the acreage outside, there is plenty of room for everyone. We look forward to your next visit.

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Business Retreat
Slavica K. from Bend, OR recommends this property
Stayed 2 days in Mar, 2017

A group of 6 friends enjoyed this house for the business planning and briefing.

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Amazing time!
Shea G. from Pass christian, MS recommends this property
Stayed 2 days in Jan, 2017

Everything was exactly as described. We had a blast here and the skiing was great. Beautiful property surrounded by those awesome Oregon trees. Will definitely come back! And Alexa was a nice touch.

Manager Response:

We love the secluded forest setting at the Forest View Lodge, too. Come back during the summer for hiking.

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


Lovely Stay on Mt Hood
A Guest from Portland, OR recommends this property
Stayed 2 days in Jan, 2017

The home was in a great location for our girls weekend that included skiing, and snowshoeing. We loved the kitchen, living room and the bedroom set up. We will be back!

Manager Response:

So happy to hear you had a great girlfriend getaway. The Forest View Lodge is ideal for a summer adventure vacation, too with the Salmon River Trails, Hunchback Mountain Trail and Green Canyon Trail all just a couple of miles from the cabin. We look forward to your next visit.

Overall Satisfaction
Rating

Services from rental manager
Rating

Cleanliness
Rating

Location
Rating

Property Condition
Rating


×
Back to Top